Performance?

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Anonymous

Performance?

Post by Anonymous »

Damnit, just lost the previous text.. Ok I'll type it again:

I tried to use Resolume for internet broadcasting purposes, and it is a perfect tool for it (scrolling text etc.). The main problem is, that Resolume uses 70% to 80% of my cpu, wich is too much, cause 2 other apps need some cpu to. I only use the DV Capture input, and sometimes a Flash layer for the text. Does anybody know how to increase performance???

Thanks in advance,

Joost

Using P4 2,4@3,0 ghz, 512MB ram

Danger
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 360
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 16:25
Location: Portugal

Post by Danger »

what are the other 2 apps ?
case they are "services" can you split then with more servers ?

Anonymous

Post by Anonymous »

Well, the first one is camtasia, wich captures a part of the screen, and sends the output to a dummy dv device. I use it to capture the video ouput of resolume wich runs in the detached preview screen.

Second app is NSVcap, wich receives the camtasia DV device and interleaves the video+audio, enodes it, and streams it to a remote shoutcast server.

so, the other apps cannot be run on antoher machine....

Anonymous

Post by Anonymous »

and sorry for the typo's

Danger
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 360
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 16:25
Location: Portugal

Post by Danger »

a dummy question...
the isn't any streamer that catch's the Resolume streming ?

Anonymous

Post by Anonymous »

Well, not that I know, and I have seperate audio which have to be interleaved with the video.

I just think that 80% cpu consumption is not right at a 3ghz pc... even if I start resolume and do nothing, it uses around 55%.... :(

Danger
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 360
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 16:25
Location: Portugal

Post by Danger »

maybe Bart and Edwin could release the streaming protocol that they use...and then someone could make a internet streaming software for it or a plugin for a internet streaming software :D

Anonymous

Post by Anonymous »

Yeah, that would be nice..

But, I'm still wondering: How can an application use more than 50%-60% when it's doing.. nothing! It must be a sort of leak, like a car wich uses fuel when it's standing in the garage.

Danger
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 360
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 16:25
Location: Portugal

Post by Danger »

i'm a software developer/consultant and a few days a go a cliente of mine ask me how could a finance software that he have consume 80% of CPU while waiting for login/password
I phone the enterprise that made that software and even then could't explain :(

but i think edwin or bart may have a nice anwser :)

edwin
Team Resolume
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 10:40

Post by edwin »

well i can explain it a bit.
resolume works like a game.
resolume will allways try to run as fast as possible (to get a good framerate).
so that's why it's trying to get the most of your cpu....
it needs all the speed it can get to respond as quickly as possible.

run a game and see what your cpu does..

Post Reply