Deltacast capture device crashes Resolume

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
DTBerlin
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2020 12:16

Deltacast capture device crashes Resolume

Post by DTBerlin »

Hello everyone,

We are currently using this setup:

win 10 LTSC 1809
xeon silver 4114
2x Nvidea P4000
deltacast flex 3g 40 capture device


Resolume recognizes the live inputs, but they are fliped and upside down, which is no problem as we can rotate them as usual. Resolume is crashing immediately if one clears a live input from a slot. Resolume is crashing also when a project containing live inputs is beeing closed. Allthough all crashes are reproducible, during a show everything is working fine and stable. We use the latest Deltacast and directshow drivers from there website.

sincerely

video crew Deutsches Theater Berlin

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4550
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Deltacast capture device crashes Resolume

Post by Zoltán »

Could you please use the crash reporter dialog that pops up after the crash to submit a crash report?
https://resolume.com/support/en/reporti ... rt-a-crash

That way we get lot more detailed information about what went wrong exactly.
Don't forget to fill out your email address, so we know it came from you ;)
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

DTBerlin
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2020 12:16

Re: Deltacast capture device crashes Resolume

Post by DTBerlin »

Hey Zoltán,

we have just send the crash report.
We also discovered a very strange glitch while using Resolume with the Deltacast devices. In one of the live inputs one can see a flickering image (rare) of the secound input. Yea..makes absolutly no sense, at least to us. Other software like Wings or Pixera working just fine. Also we have a bit of latency issue while working with resolume/deltacast setup, its over 500ms.
Anyways, as software like wings and Pixera can not provide the tools we need and Resolume can, we just wanted to know if this is a bigger Problem in terms of driver, perhaps there is just no support for the Deltacast stuff and we would have to buy BM or something else, which of course would not be ideal (boss getting mad) ;)

Thank you !

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4550
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Deltacast capture device crashes Resolume

Post by Zoltán »

Thanks, got it.
Capture devices which are not supported natively in Resolume are accessed via directshow on windows.
Looks like it crashes in the deltacast directshow driver.
No real info to go on unfortunately, as we can't see into the driver :(

As it works fine in other apps it's likely that we're doing something odd when closing it, which the driver can't handle.

Could you send us some screenshots of the Deltacast clip's options?

What's the source you're trying to capture, is it maybe available as NDI?

Could you try how the capture card works with Resolume on a non LTSC Windows installation?

500ms latency is also a lot.
If the deltacast works fine in another app which can do NDI output (like OBS with NDI plugins), Resolume 6 and 7 can do NDI input, maybe that could be a quick workaround.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Post Reply