best video format

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
konvertore
Met Resolume in a bar the other day

best video format

Post by konvertore »

hi

i'm completely new to vj-ing, but i have my first vj gig tomorrow. just a few questions -

- is there an ideal video format to load into resolume? i was thinking of using AVIs, MOVs, and SWFs

- would it be a problem if i load in a 15minute AVI? i'm on a toshiba satellite laptop, 2004 model. it would be loaded only on one layer. the other layers will be SWFs

- is there any way to import/export decks and effects from one laptop to another?

- is there any ideal video resolutions? i'll be outputing to 720x480. but i suppose it depends on how much a laptop can handle. i figure video compression plays on this as well.

hope im not asking too much. once i become a veteran, i'll be more helpful. :)

cheers

[Edited on 4-5-2006 by konvertore]

[Edited on 4-5-2006 by konvertore]

edwin
Team Resolume

Post by edwin »

Hi konvertore,

- is there an ideal video format to load into resolume? i was thinking of using AVIs, MOVs, and SWFs

use Avi's and Swf's, we do support quicktime (mov). But if you go for speed and reliability choose Avi's. Best to load short clips (preferable not clips longer then a few minutes) and use Cinepak or Indeo or MJPEG codecs. Indeo is for best quality, cinepak for best speed en Mpjeg is in between.
There is no problem if you are running a 15 minute clip in one layer. It should work fine.

- is there any way to import/export decks and effects from one laptop to another?
you van import decks only if the files on your other system are exactly at the same location. The decks only store references to files and the clipsettings. They don't include the files themselves.

The ideal resolution now is probably 400x300 scaled to 800x600.
Don't run resolume in the 720x480 resolution, it won't be very fast.

Cheers
Edwin

DinkyToys
Is taking Resolume on a second date

Post by DinkyToys »