Quartz composer

FFGL, OSC, GLSL. If you like abbreviations, this is the forum for you
Post Reply
sleepytom
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 11:11
Location: sussex by the sea

Quartz composer

Post by sleepytom »

Just got back to my mac :)

Quartz stuff is really cool, and seems to all make sense. I have a couple of questions about the current functionality..

Is it possible to pass video textures to quartz compositions for video effects kind of processing?
How are parameters passed / mapped - are they all 0-1 ints or can we have boolean and string parameters too?

User avatar
bart
Team Resolume
Posts: 2152
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 10:01
Location: Resolume HQ

Re: Quartz composer

Post by bart »

RTFM! :-)
http://www.resolume.com/avenue/manual/
In Resolume Avenue on OS X, Quartz Composer patches playback is fully supported. This means that you can play and mix your compositions in Resolume, having the same control for layering, blend modes and added effects as you would with a normal clip. You can load the composition from the file browser, or drag and drop them from the mighty Finder.

Similar to the way Flash clips are supported, you have full access to published parameters in Resolume as well. This allows you to have direct control over the parameters you want to have access to, making each performance you do with them new and different.

In order for any published inputs to show up in Resolume, you'll have to publish the parameter at the top level, and add an input splitter. See the examples included in your Resolume Avenue Application folder: /Applications/Resolume Avenue 3.2.0/media/quartz composer/

Resolume supports the following input types :

- NUMBER. Shows up as a slider, with all the animation options for BPM syncing, timeline, audio FFT, etc that all sliders in Avenue have. Don't forget to set a min and max value using the Patch Inspector.

- BOOLEAN. Shows up as a checkbox.

- INDEX. Shows up as drop down menu.

- STRING. Shows up as a text input field, allowing you to change the text in realtime.
Resolume 3.2 does not support texture inputs so you can not create effects with QC yet, this is on our list for version 4.

sleepytom
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 11:11
Location: sussex by the sea

Re: Quartz composer

Post by sleepytom »

:)
lol

Thats a shame - i can't wait until Resolume4.
why doesn't someone clever make a QC > FFGL wrapper??

Post Reply