Searching - customizable software midicontroller

FFGL, OSC, GLSL. If you like abbreviations, this is the forum for you
Post Reply
User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1321
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Searching - customizable software midicontroller

Post by cosmowe »

Hey,

for my vj gigs I'm using a touchscreen...to operate Resolume. There it only one single problem:
Resolume isn't very touchfriendly. My idea is now to find and use external software to remote resolume.

This external software should be able to create a grid of software midi buttons on my screen...wich are fully customizable. I would like to define a background picture for every certain button.... the midi and/or osc message....

Result:
A fullscreen clip laucher. :twisted:


Any ideas? Other Solutions?



greets
cosmowe
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || magewell capture dongle

User avatar
rxfromparis
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 18:35
Location: Montpellier, France

Re: Searching - customizable software midicontroller

Post by rxfromparis »

i'm thinking you could use Ableton Live and Max for Live to make that kind of tool ?
desktop: Windows 7 64bit , i7 920 2.66Ghz, 12Gb Ram, GTX 950 2Go, WD Velociraptor 300Go, terratec asio phase 26 usb soundcard & midi,Novation Nocturn controlpad, Akai MPK mini, and soon to come : BCR 2000 :))

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1321
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: Searching - customizable software midicontroller

Post by cosmowe »

Hi rxfromparis,

in wich way I can combine MAX FOR LIVE and LIVE to create such a tool?


Best regards
cosmowe
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || magewell capture dongle

User avatar
rxfromparis
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 128
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 18:35
Location: Montpellier, France

Re: Searching - customizable software midicontroller

Post by rxfromparis »

Even better, take a lok at this :

http://www.sensomusic.com/usine/

touchscreen, osc, midi, programmable, looks nice

and for Max for Live, i'm just starting, so cat be much help (yet ) ;)
desktop: Windows 7 64bit , i7 920 2.66Ghz, 12Gb Ram, GTX 950 2Go, WD Velociraptor 300Go, terratec asio phase 26 usb soundcard & midi,Novation Nocturn controlpad, Akai MPK mini, and soon to come : BCR 2000 :))

levon
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 483
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 03:38
Location: adelaide, australia

Re: Searching - customizable software midicontroller

Post by levon »

you dont need Max 4 Live, you just need MAX.

ive used a 10" Touch Screen and made an interface in MAX, using sliders and buttons. i was just using midi to communicate from MAX to Resolume, but you could also use OSC.


it took quite some time to make the interface, and i dont use it any more.

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1321
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: Searching - customizable software midicontroller

Post by cosmowe »

sounds good.... is it also possible to define a button background?

Greets
LG
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || magewell capture dongle

User avatar
VJair
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 609
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 21:23
Location: Kent - UK

Re: Searching - customizable software midicontroller

Post by VJair »

seems a bit over complicated to me... why not just use a keyboard / novation launchpad / monome ?

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1321
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: Searching - customizable software midicontroller

Post by cosmowe »

@ VJair
thx...for your answer...but..not enough buttons, no visual feedback and no thumbnails are shown on a keyboard, launchpad or monome.
The composition I'm using has up to 500 clips in one deck...I think it's getting quite difficult to have access to every certain clip with the hardware u have recommended me.

Best regards
cosmowe
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || magewell capture dongle

Post Reply