Sorry to bring it up again: HDR!

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
Post Reply
User avatar
Foggy_Lens
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 21:35
Location: Los Angeles

Sorry to bring it up again: HDR!

Post by Foggy_Lens »

Hi all,

I know this has been talked about before, but I wanted to reiterate how useful HDR output would be. Given that most of us use video walls, almost all of which have at least 10 bit color processing, being able to output at least 10 bit color would be a huge boon for us!

Right now, a 5000nit video wall needs to be dimmed down to 10% to match with theatrical lighting, and with 8bit color that means severe banding in the shadows. (256 colors become 26 shades of grey with extreme posterization) The entire wall can be dimmed, but then that means when we want to go REALLY BRIGHT for those epic moments, we can't!

Projection/Video Wall technology is at the point where HDR can be used to awesome effect! Neither of your biggest competitors (Isadora and Watchout) have HDR yet, and their forums are likewise demonstrating an itch for HDR media servers. I think it would be a great boon for Resolume to be the first to integrate even a 10 bit workflow!

Best,
David
David Murakami
http://www.davidmurakami.com
Projection Designer, Film Director, & Adjunct Faculty at UC Irvine

edwin
Team Resolume
Posts: 1153
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 10:40

Re: Sorry to bring it up again: HDR!

Post by edwin »

Do you have any experience setting up a HDR signal and outputting that to a LED wall?
I mean apart from using Resolume is there a way to send a HDR signal from your PC to a LED processor?
I know Windows 10 has support for HDR but i was wondering what would be needed to actually get an HDR signal out of your machine.

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1403
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Sorry to bring it up again: HDR!

Post by Arvol »

edwin wrote:Do you have any experience setting up a HDR signal and outputting that to a LED wall?
I mean apart from using Resolume is there a way to send a HDR signal from your PC to a LED processor?
I know Windows 10 has support for HDR but i was wondering what would be needed to actually get an HDR signal out of your machine.
Currently, to my knowledge, HDR isn't supported on LED Walls. The Nova MCTRL4K processor and Nova A8 & A10 Receiving cards support HDR, But I haven't seen any panel that currently has a chip and IC Driver that supports it.
Could be wrong though. Just had this discussion with a few fellow techs a couple weeks back. The systems are in place, but there isn't any hardware developed for it yet (it's in the works)

User avatar
Foggy_Lens
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 21:35
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Sorry to bring it up again: HDR!

Post by Foggy_Lens »

Yeah, it's still limited, but I believe there's a new line from Panasonic that supports true HDR color addressing. And I've been checking in with Absen's development and they seem very close.

One of my monitors is HDR which I use to proof content, but it'll be great to see it used.

I'm of the "if you build it, they will come" mindset. HDR walls are still new and there's such a niche market for them, but if Resolume makes a push VJs will push as well. Right now it's a catch-22, with no mapping softwares supporting HDR, why would a panel company make a concerted effort to continue development?
David Murakami
http://www.davidmurakami.com
Projection Designer, Film Director, & Adjunct Faculty at UC Irvine

Post Reply