16bit DMX fixtures and pixel drawing

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
Username739266
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 22:28
Location: Los Angeles

16bit DMX fixtures and pixel drawing

Post by Username739266 »

Many of the RGB/AW lights I work with are 16bit. It'd be great to support these instead of going back to 8bit with less resolution and low output steppiness.

It would also be incredible to have a way of drawing pixels and then applying the patching. Many of the LED ribbon rigs I fall into have totally abstract designs that while doable/patchable are time consuming as is. Mostly just dealing with curves as lines can be quickly made and rotated.

Thanks,

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4550
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: 16bit DMX fixtures and pixel drawing

Post by Zoltán »

Username739266 wrote:
Wed Mar 13, 2019 16:37
Many of the RGB/AW lights I work with are 16bit. It'd be great to support these instead of going back to 8bit with less resolution and low output steppiness.
Could you point us to a few of these, so we can check them out?
It would also be incredible to have a way of drawing pixels and then applying the patching. Many of the LED ribbon rigs I fall into have totally abstract designs that while doable/patchable are time consuming as is. Mostly just dealing with curves as lines can be quickly made and rotated.
Indeed this can be time consuming to set up.
We're looking into how we could make a case like this easy to set up.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Username739266
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 22:28
Location: Los Angeles

Re: 16bit DMX fixtures and pixel drawing

Post by Username739266 »

Thanks for getting back to me.

Here are some of the 16bit lights that have come up recenetly:

Arri Skypanel s60 (2pixel) and s360 (12pixel) - https://www.arri.com/en/lighting/led/skypanel/s360-c

Cineo Lightblade 1k - 10 zone 16bit RGBW - https://www.lightbladeled.com/

TMB - Solaris Flare - http://pub.tmb.com/solaris/pdf/Solaris-Flare-Manual.pdf

16bit RGBAW panels and strips from LED drivers. - https://www.environmentallights.com/17797-dmx-5-8a.html

LiteTile +8 (lots of these as a giant overhead piece above artist) - http://www.litegear.com/product/litetile-plus-8/

Chauvet Colorado Solo Batten 12 cells - https://www.chauvetprofessional.eu/wp-c ... M_Rev1.pdf

Chauvet MK3 Wash Tour mode, 27 cells - https://www.chauvetprofessional.com/wp- ... ev1_WO.pdf

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4550
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: 16bit DMX fixtures and pixel drawing

Post by Zoltán »

Thanks!
We'll see what we can do.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Username739266
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 22:28
Location: Los Angeles

Re: 16bit DMX fixtures and pixel drawing

Post by Username739266 »

Hi,

Wondering if there's been any progress on 16bit pixels or quicker ways to implement abstract designs. In the last year since posting this I'd say almost every light I use now is 16bit capable.

Some new common ones since last post would be:

Chroma Q ColorForce 2 72

Rupixel Panels

Astera Titan Tubes

Astera AX3, 5 and 7

Quasar RGBX Tubes

Lumipix Bars (built into panels)

Additionally I've found that it would be really nice to be able to assign a master DMX channel to either lights, the whole lumiverse or both. Some way of dynamically controlling the intensity or color mix that hits those lights. We have it in the output control but no way of changing a specific lights colorspace on the fly or from scene to scene within a production. Right now I use PRG MBOX to do this, they do a grouping thing where you can assign a light to the group and then that group has IRGB controls from a console. I'd like to cut the MBOX out of the mix as best I can as it's only needed for this type of control and has Mac only hardware restrictions that are obnoxious.

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4550
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: 16bit DMX fixtures and pixel drawing

Post by Zoltán »

Username739266 wrote:
Fri Apr 24, 2020 03:09
Wondering if there's been any progress on 16bit pixels or quicker ways to implement abstract designs. In the last year since posting this I'd say almost every light I use now is 16bit capable.
We have a ticket for this in the features bucket.
Username739266 wrote:
Fri Apr 24, 2020 03:09
Additionally I've found that it would be really nice to be able to assign a master DMX channel to either lights, the whole lumiverse or both. Some way of dynamically controlling the intensity or color mix that hits those lights.
Resolume outputs the pixel data based on the video played, so changing the video opacity, or the colors with effects would probably do this in software.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Username739266
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 22:28
Location: Los Angeles

Re: 16bit DMX fixtures and pixel drawing

Post by Username739266 »

Resolume outputs the pixel data based on the video played, so changing the video opacity, or the colors with effects would probably do this in software.
I do currently do that for on the fly adjustments as a whole. The purpose behind having a lumiverse or fixture assignment of this would be to calibrate it on the fly to the other lights. The colorspace for each light can be drastically different and may not be apparent until a certain video or color palette is running on them. This kind of post processing is then able to compensate for that. A simple example would be pulling magenta out of specific lights on the map but not the whole video. Or just dimming those down compared to the rest. While you can do that within the advanced output, it's not dynamic. I can't boost those back up for the next clip or later in a show/project.

I am probably more sensitive to this than most as all my projects are filmed and I have to deal with how it ends up recorded and seen a thousand more times.

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4550
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: 16bit DMX fixtures and pixel drawing

Post by Zoltán »

Slice transform effect clip on a layer with the fixtures could help https://resolume.com/support/en/transfo ... -transform
Together with setting the fixtures to get input from this specific layer.
Képernyőfotó 2020-05-05 - 15.53.13.png

This way you could also have presets made in your effect clips, and use them on demand.

If you want to pull specific channels of the fixture, maybe you can do that in a lighting console.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

mercury2768
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 29, 2020 19:09

Re: 16bit DMX fixtures and pixel drawing

Post by mercury2768 »

Is there an eta on the 16-bit feature? If you guys could incorporate it I think a lot of film/tv people would use this as their goto media server since the other options are wildly expensive that we are using right now (green hippo, d3, even MBOX) - and they are complete overkill for what we need

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4550
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: 16bit DMX fixtures and pixel drawing

Post by Zoltán »

mercury2768 wrote:
Fri May 29, 2020 19:13
Is there an eta on the 16-bit feature?
Not yet, sorry.

Have you already voted on the top?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Post Reply