Page 1 of 1

Rework Lumiverses /Fixture Handling/ Advanced Ouput Improvements

Posted: Fri Jun 05, 2020 11:43
by movebandit
First of all:
Please! Please! Get Rid of the "By Universe Pixelmapping". Did you ever try to map Pixelstrips with more than 170 pixels per fixture ? It took me a long time and a lot of calculating to set up. When you´re working with 50-60 Universes via Artnet, its really time consuming to split every fixture in different pixels to make them fit into the universes (smaller example in attachment).

And after that, some wishes for improvement (still not complete):

-Fixture Spanning for More than one Universe !!! (as mentioned above)
-Other Fixures than Lines (Circles,Bend,L, Whatever) Fixture Cutter/Splitter, Warping ?
-Show lowest Adress in Fixture (Red Dot ?)
-Input / Slice / Fixture Mask
-Fixture/Slice Groups (Group Masks?)
-Select more than one Fixture to set framerate, Gamma etc
.....more to come....

Re: Rework Lumiverses /Fixture Handling/ Advanced Ouput Improvements

Posted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 02:46
by Wasko
Oh man 200% yes to all of that. I find my self spouting to Madmapper whenever I have to deal with Artnet Fixtures or LED Mapping because of the missing features you mentioned. I'm happier in Resolume and would love to just stay there for these tasks with these improvements made.

Especially the fixtures spanning more then one Universe, that has driven me crazy more then once; a lot of LED controllers just naturally operate that way.

Re: Rework Lumiverses /Fixture Handling/ Advanced Ouput Improvements

Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2020 10:05
by Menno
If you have a fixture spanning across multiple universes, how do you expect the channels to be split? eg what if the Red and Green channels for the last fixture pixel still fit on the first universe but the Blue channel doesnt. Does this entire pixel move over to the new universe (and thus leave 2 empty channels in universe 1) or does it not have any gap and does your fixture controller recombine the multiple universes into a single fixture pixel again?

Re: Rework Lumiverses /Fixture Handling/ Advanced Ouput Improvements

Posted: Mon Jun 29, 2020 09:20
by Grimm90
with my artnet led installation universes get used up to channel 510, that's 170 pixels .
Channel 511 - 512 are unused , next pixel will start on the next universe ,

Re: Rework Lumiverses /Fixture Handling/ Advanced Ouput Improvements

Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2020 06:23
by dreamaticos
Menno wrote:
Tue Jun 16, 2020 10:05
If you have a fixture spanning across multiple universes, how do you expect the channels to be split? eg what if the Red and Green channels for the last fixture pixel still fit on the first universe but the Blue channel doesnt. Does this entire pixel move over to the new universe (and thus leave 2 empty channels in universe 1) or does it not have any gap and does your fixture controller recombine the multiple universes into a single fixture pixel again?
Based on the LED order being RGB:

With my home made artnet controllers I essentially have to do 1-170 as normal. Map a single RGB pixel on the remaining 511-512, and tell Resolume the next strip is BRG, until that universe is full, then continue my silly fix. An option to tell Resolume to continue on from lumiverse 1 -> lumiverse 2 would actually be kind of nice. It would at least save me a lot of napkin math.

Since it sounds like other artnet devices might handle this differently an option to choose spanning behavior might solve that issue.

Re: Rework Lumiverses /Fixture Handling/ Advanced Ouput Improvements

Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 21:37
by Oaktown
I think the 'norm' is to skip 511 & 512 which allows to span RGB over more than one universe (typically 2 or 3 but could be more).

Skipping 511 & 512 works with RGBAW or RGBWW as well and RGBA is a none issue since 512 is divisible by 4.

Re: Rework Lumiverses /Fixture Handling/ Advanced Ouput Improvements

Posted: Sat Jul 04, 2020 11:03
by drazkers
I have never worked on an installation or festival that does universe spanning per fixture. Loosing one channel isn't really the end of the world.

Typically wish devices(I see you bullshit Alibaba). Even for marshmello on V6 we got around this.

alittle bit of programming and foresight helps.

This is not a feature in D3 and Hippo to my knowledge, could be wrong.