Text Block input from external source

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
Post Reply
LegitJesseee
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2020 21:34

Text Block input from external source

Post by LegitJesseee »

I think it would be really awesome if you could dynamically specify the input of a text block source through an external means for example by calling a GET web request.

For example, I currently use an NDI feed to show ProPresenter lyrics on my Resolume canvas. Instead of this, I would prefer to capture the text stream of the lyrics by calling a GET request to ProPresenter's internal web server. Whatever is returned by the GET request would become the text block input.

The settings would probably look something like this:

- Source URI: "ws://127.0.0.1:25565" (the URI to receive the GET request from)
- Ping Frequency (time in seconds to refresh the GET request)
- Crossfade time (time in seconds to crossfade text if updated text is received, 0 seconds is instant)
- Refresh animation on update (true/false refresh the text animation from the start if applicable)

Maybe this could be a new source called "Data Stream" or an addition to text block/animator.

Thoughts?

Empyfree
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 292
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 23:36

Re: Text Block input from external source

Post by Empyfree »

You could probably do this using Touch Designer. It would manage the GET request, then re parse the text into a suitable OSC string (you can already dynamically alter text sources via OSC).

I can’t imagine this becoming an “off the shelf” fix or feature, but it’s a good geek quest!

Empyfree
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 292
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 23:36

Re: Text Block input from external source

Post by Empyfree »

You don’t need to specify anything. Just sending a suitable OSC string will replace whatever is currently in the text source.

You can find the OSC syntax required by turning on OSC mapping then clicking in the text area, you’ll see the OSC address down in the help window.

I used this to drive a countdown clock via touch designer.

I’ve also experimented sending text strings from CueLab into Resolume. Works a charm!

Post Reply