AKAI APC40 mk2 - MIDI and Lights setup questions

Bro, does your rig even lift?
sourcegate
Met Resolume in a bar the other day

AKAI APC40 mk2 - MIDI and Lights setup questions

Post by sourcegate »

Hi guys, I'm brand new to Resolume and just picked up an APC40 mk2. I've spent the better part of a few hours googling around trying to find easy setups that can get me MIDI mappings and Light control for a fast tutorial or setup.

As you can imagine I'd rather be spending time making great stuff I can share with all of you instead of getting in the weeds with MIDI and all that.

I should share a few things first:

1) I'm running a newer model Macbook pro, so MIDI YOKE or another program won't work for me.
2) I've searched around these forums, googled, binged, etc and haven't found a straight-forward tutorial for getting this setup. I'd love to not have to buy and configure Bomes and a bunch of other software since I just shelled out a ton of money on the controller, modern loop libraries, software, etc
3) I'm aware of how to hand-map using the in-program edit MIDI map, but I'd really love and appreciate a fast approach to get this working

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone

Re: AKAI APC40 mk2 - MIDI and Lights setup questions

Post by Joris »

First of all, let me say that there certainly are a few things that can be improved in Resolume's midi output and we have plans to do so in the future.