Choose a new laptop,

Bro, does your rig even lift?
Post Reply
AnitaR
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 16:00

Choose a new laptop,

Post by AnitaR »

Hey there,
Sorry but I m new in the forum.
I've read something about but really, nothing help me.
I'm searching for a laptop that can really support programs Like
Arena
Cinema 4D
Touch Designer
OD4D
After effects
Adobe illustrator
Photoshop
Animate
...so I Need something with good for lives too, that doesn t crush programs or slow down while i m working
I really Need your help, my budget Is around 2.700€

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1393
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Choose a new laptop,

Post by Arvol »

Razer Blades or Clevo's get my vote. If you go clevo Eurocom is pretty nice for customizing to your needs.

AnitaR
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2020 16:00

Re: Choose a new laptop,

Post by AnitaR »

Really thanks :)
Is MacBook Pro so bad to bear all’ these programs? :roll:

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1393
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Choose a new laptop,

Post by Arvol »

Yes! Yes it really is lol
Don't waste your money on a Mac unless you really enjoy a side hobby of pulling your hair out. You get twice as much value from a pc and I try to stretch my currency out as far as it will take me.

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1321
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: Choose a new laptop,

Post by cosmowe »

Word. Don't go with a Mac if you want to get the most performance out of your 2.700€

Arvol mentioned Clevo's....and that's a good suggestion.
Take a look at the XMG Pro 17 or XMG Ultra 17. These are reliable workhorses with a lot of IO and a "cool" clevo chassis ;)
w10 || Schenker U506 || lemur || kp3 || pulse || leap motion || magewell capture dongle

User avatar
He2neg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 778
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 21:34
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Choose a new laptop,

Post by He2neg »

+1 for Clevo / XMGs


also a big + for bestware.eu as they are fair and tell you exactly what plugs are soldered to what place (mainboard / gfx card) and also if you can disable intel optimus etc etc....

www.bestware.com
Laptop: XMG P507 // Intel i7-5500 / GTX-1060 / 1tb SSD / 32gb RAM // Lemur / BirdDog Studio NDI
~self employed AV technician / Schu.VT|a|posteo.de~
~Berlin~

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1393
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Choose a new laptop,

Post by Arvol »

He2neg wrote: Mon Oct 12, 2020 08:54 +1 for Clevo / XMGs


also a big + for bestware.eu as they are fair and tell you exactly what plugs are soldered to what place (mainboard / gfx card) and also if you can disable intel optimus etc etc....

www.bestware.com
You need an F series Intel processor to do that ;)

User avatar
He2neg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 778
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 21:34
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Choose a new laptop,

Post by He2neg »

On the XMG site they call it "Mux design" and is a mainboard feature.... you can chose that the internal display is connected to the dedicated card and so you can disable the onboard chip ;)


At least this is how i understand it.... This is also quite usefull for having the ndi scan converter to get the desktop (becouse it can only reach desktops rendered on the dedicated card and not onboard..)

but so what... the importend information is that you know how many plugs you have and are connected to the gfx card...


I just scroll through the XMG models... my choice would be the CORE serie... 3 outputs direct to the card is better then 2 ;)
Laptop: XMG P507 // Intel i7-5500 / GTX-1060 / 1tb SSD / 32gb RAM // Lemur / BirdDog Studio NDI
~self employed AV technician / Schu.VT|a|posteo.de~
~Berlin~

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1393
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Choose a new laptop,

Post by Arvol »

For everyone not using that manufacture, you'll nee the F series Intel processor to get around optimus, TBH, I rather keep the integrated GPU for my laptop screen, that frees up 4 outputs on your dedicated GPU vs 3.

On a side note, the older version of scan converter still works better (actually) than the new one. I still use the older one because like you mentioned, getting the new version to work with 2 GPU's is a pain (do-able, but a pain).

Post Reply