OSC Get current clip selected

FFGL, OSC, GLSL. If you like abbreviations, this is the forum for you
Post Reply
rmshr
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2020 12:25

OSC Get current clip selected

Post by rmshr »

Hello

I'm developping an OSC communication Resolume>Unity and it works pretty well as far as i tried.

As i'm beginning my project, i'm not aware of every OSC commands in Resolume. I found some with "Shortcut/Edit OSC" in Resolume, but i was wondering if there's some hidden ones. I'm looking for something to get the actual clip selected, not only if a specific clip is selected.

For now, i'm using "/composition/layers/<my layer>/clips/<my clip>/connect" to send if i'm pushing my clip. But if i have a ton of clips, it'll be mess to code (and not really clean).

Do you have any idea if there's this sort of information or should i start thinking about anoter way with my code ?

Thanks for your help

User avatar
Arvol
Might as well join the team
Posts: 2771
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: OSC Get current clip selected

Post by Arvol »

Here are a few links to get you started:

https://resolume.com/download/Manual/OSC/OSC%20list.txt

https://resolume.com/support/en/osc

You can also send a:
?
to any osc address and it will return it's current state.



*** For the devs***

On a side note, I don't believe there is a return command that tells you what clip is connected.
My 2 cents:
I'd LOVE to have an osc address that tells you how many columns are present in the comp/deck (int), then another osc that would tell you what the current clip in each layer is connected (int). This seconds address would get its value from where it lies in the 0-1 float value of the first address.

Example:
comp/deck has 10 columns, so the output range for how many columns would be 0-9, with an output value of always it's max value, so in this case 9

the output value of the previous address would now be use to define the range of the next address

Each layer will have a connected clip column position address with a range of 0-9 (pulled from the previous address), and if the clip in column 5 is connected, then the output value for this layer would be 4.

*********************
Example 2:
comp/deck has 26 columns so the address range would be 0-25 with an always max output value of 25
layer 1 has column 3 connected, so it's output value would be 2
layer 2 has column 15 connected, so it's output value would be 14
layer 3 has column 22 connected, so it's output value would be 21
etc. etc. etc.

each time the deck is changed the column values will be updated.


on a side note, what does the "selected" osc command do?
Example:
/composition/columns/1/selected



just something i think would be useful for a few tools i had on the back burner as well

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 7088
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: OSC Get current clip selected

Post by Zoltán »

On a side note, I don't believe there is a return command that tells you what clip is connected.
For the clip connected state, you can send
/composition/layers/*/clips/*/connected String ? to query all the clips in the composition.

Then watch for the reply as described here:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=19439&p=78244&hili ... ted#p78244
Software developer, Sound Engineer,
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu

User avatar
Arvol
Might as well join the team
Posts: 2771
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: OSC Get current clip selected

Post by Arvol »

Zoltán wrote: Fri Jan 31, 2020 11:54
On a side note, I don't believe there is a return command that tells you what clip is connected.
For the clip connected state, you can send
/composition/layers/*/clips/*/connected String ? to query all the clips in the composition.

Then watch for the reply as described here:
viewtopic.php?f=12&t=19439&p=78244&hili ... ted#p78244
Ohhhh!!!
* variables :o
Brilliant! Thank you sir.
This I can work with :D

rmshr
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2020 12:25

Re: OSC Get current clip selected

Post by rmshr »

Hello

Thanks for your replies, links and advices ! It really helped a lot.

For any other users who try to use OSC with Unity, some stuffs i've noticed that helped me :
When receiving OSC, there's not only information like 0 or 1. If a clip is selected, you receive "3".
I used https://hexler.net/products/protokol#windowsto monitor OSC message, and it's quite handfull.
And finally, i used Keijiro's osc plugin : https://github.com/keijiro/OscJack

Good luck with you osc journey

Post Reply