Many layers strong lag

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
Piotrus04
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 12:05

Many layers strong lag

Post by Piotrus04 »

Hi, I have a MacBook Yosemite 15 with SSD i7 and r9 m370 GPU.
When I keymap or step sequence by Osc many layers,
5 layers at 100 X 100 rpixels resolution.
If I send very fast trig , sixteenth notes at 120bpm, resolume accumulate some delay over the commands, the trigs,
And when I stop sending this commands , I can see resolume spending some time to "finish" the job,
Like if it was impossible for it to trig as fast the videos.
I tried many different codecs, prores or dxv, but usually, it slows down
Making it impossible to be very audio reactive.
Any solutions?
Best
Pierre

Online
Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4705
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Many layers strong lag

Post by Zoltán »

Which Resolume version are you using?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Piotrus04
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 12:05

Re: Many layers strong lag

Post by Piotrus04 »

5.1.4
Do I need to update to 6?

Online
Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4705
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Many layers strong lag

Post by Zoltán »

Piotrus04 wrote:Do I need to update to 6?
First it would be good to find out why this happens for you.
But you can always try the same in R6.
How many clips do you have in the decks that lag?
When I put 100 columns, 5 layers of clips then I can get 5.1.4 lag as you described.
I don't see the same with Resolume 6.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Piotrus04
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 12:05

Re: Many layers strong lag

Post by Piotrus04 »

Ok I will update.
But in my case, to reproduce the issue
You'll have to trig a lot faster than just for example trig a column of 5 layers clips
In my case, I trig from the keyboard very fast or from m4l stepsequencer.
So i mean that I trig 5 clips at the same time,
Every 100 ms.
In that case, I can feel that there is like a queue commands management internally
In resolume that can't afford this trig speed, even with slow resolution and a few clips in the deck.

After 5 trigs*every 100ms* 60 seconds, if I stop shooting thru keyboard mapping
Or Osc commands, I see that resolume can't follow this flow,
Because it continues to empty his trig queue list. (I am programmer too...)
Any advice?

I do that for my next vjing sets, large audioreactivity video in some concerts.

User avatar
subpixel
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 09:32
Location: Melbourne, AU

Re: Many layers strong lag

Post by subpixel »

I don't recall the exact circumstance, but I also noticed some "processing queue" of MIDI commands for some time after the MIDI source stopped.

I use a tool I made that spits out approximately 300 MIDI CC values per second (10x CC messages per update, around 30 updates per second).

Piotrus04
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 12:05

Re: Many layers strong lag

Post by Piotrus04 »

Hi, come back after a long while.
I figure out what is happening.
I created a tool in Juce to automatically make a very big midi shortcuts XML.
Every clip start, layer and fader, stop, etc... Has its midi shortcut, so that I can work on ableton live on a remote computer, and send thru midi over network the midi to the slave resolume avenue. No latency, no problem, it works perfect.
But...
Depending on the number of midi shortcuts created in the xml, let's say one layer of 30 clips or 12 layers of 50 clips, it can slow down drastically the cpu even if there is no midi entering. Going from 20% cpu with one to 120% with 6 or 10 layers with no clip running especially.
The question is to resolume team :
Is midi shortcut manager really well optimized to define a lot alot of midi shortcuts?

Online
Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4705
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Many layers strong lag

Post by Zoltán »

Could be just the amount of clips.
Do you see the CPU drop back by just creating a new shortcut preset?

How's the RAM usage when the CPU usage is high?
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Post Reply