Rework Lumiverses /Fixture Handling/ Advanced Ouput Improvements

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
Post Reply
movebandit
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 20:49
Location: Germany,Bielefeld

Rework Lumiverses /Fixture Handling/ Advanced Ouput Improvements

Post by movebandit »

First of all:
Please! Please! Get Rid of the "By Universe Pixelmapping". Did you ever try to map Pixelstrips with more than 170 pixels per fixture ? It took me a long time and a lot of calculating to set up. When you´re working with 50-60 Universes via Artnet, its really time consuming to split every fixture in different pixels to make them fit into the universes (smaller example in attachment).

And after that, some wishes for improvement (still not complete):

-Fixture Spanning for More than one Universe !!! (as mentioned above)
-Other Fixures than Lines (Circles,Bend,L, Whatever) Fixture Cutter/Splitter, Warping ?
-Show lowest Adress in Fixture (Red Dot ?)
-Input / Slice / Fixture Mask
-Fixture/Slice Groups (Group Masks?)
-Select more than one Fixture to set framerate, Gamma etc
.....more to come....
Attachments
Provisuell Pixelmap Example.zip
(40.25 KiB) Downloaded 94 times

User avatar
Wasko
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 00:20

Re: Rework Lumiverses /Fixture Handling/ Advanced Ouput Improvements

Post by Wasko »

Oh man 200% yes to all of that. I find my self spouting to Madmapper whenever I have to deal with Artnet Fixtures or LED Mapping because of the missing features you mentioned. I'm happier in Resolume and would love to just stay there for these tasks with these improvements made.

Especially the fixtures spanning more then one Universe, that has driven me crazy more then once; a lot of LED controllers just naturally operate that way.

Menno
Team Resolume
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Mar 12, 2013 13:56

Re: Rework Lumiverses /Fixture Handling/ Advanced Ouput Improvements

Post by Menno »

If you have a fixture spanning across multiple universes, how do you expect the channels to be split? eg what if the Red and Green channels for the last fixture pixel still fit on the first universe but the Blue channel doesnt. Does this entire pixel move over to the new universe (and thus leave 2 empty channels in universe 1) or does it not have any gap and does your fixture controller recombine the multiple universes into a single fixture pixel again?

User avatar
Grimm90
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 19:08

Re: Rework Lumiverses /Fixture Handling/ Advanced Ouput Improvements

Post by Grimm90 »

with my artnet led installation universes get used up to channel 510, that's 170 pixels .
Channel 511 - 512 are unused , next pixel will start on the next universe ,

dreamaticos
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 22:06

Re: Rework Lumiverses /Fixture Handling/ Advanced Ouput Improvements

Post by dreamaticos »

Menno wrote:
Tue Jun 16, 2020 10:05
If you have a fixture spanning across multiple universes, how do you expect the channels to be split? eg what if the Red and Green channels for the last fixture pixel still fit on the first universe but the Blue channel doesnt. Does this entire pixel move over to the new universe (and thus leave 2 empty channels in universe 1) or does it not have any gap and does your fixture controller recombine the multiple universes into a single fixture pixel again?
Based on the LED order being RGB:

With my home made artnet controllers I essentially have to do 1-170 as normal. Map a single RGB pixel on the remaining 511-512, and tell Resolume the next strip is BRG, until that universe is full, then continue my silly fix. An option to tell Resolume to continue on from lumiverse 1 -> lumiverse 2 would actually be kind of nice. It would at least save me a lot of napkin math.

Since it sounds like other artnet devices might handle this differently an option to choose spanning behavior might solve that issue.

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2837
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Rework Lumiverses /Fixture Handling/ Advanced Ouput Improvements

Post by Oaktown »

I think the 'norm' is to skip 511 & 512 which allows to span RGB over more than one universe (typically 2 or 3 but could be more).

Skipping 511 & 512 works with RGBAW or RGBWW as well and RGBA is a none issue since 512 is divisible by 4.

User avatar
drazkers
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 960
Joined: Wed May 18, 2011 10:54
Location: Brady V up in Canada

Re: Rework Lumiverses /Fixture Handling/ Advanced Ouput Improvements

Post by drazkers »

I have never worked on an installation or festival that does universe spanning per fixture. Loosing one channel isn't really the end of the world.

Typically wish devices(I see you bullshit Alibaba). Even for marshmello on V6 we got around this.

alittle bit of programming and foresight helps.

This is not a feature in D3 and Hippo to my knowledge, could be wrong.

Post Reply