Bug: Scroll Layers and Clips into view

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
RickW
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 19:09

Bug: Scroll Layers and Clips into view

Post by RickW »

The option "Scroll Layers and Clips info view" does not scroll to layers and clips that are selected via OSC. For example: When the OSC command "/composition/layers/1/clips/1/selected 1" is sent to Resolume, it does select the appropriate clip, but Resolume does not scroll to the position.

See example here where I scroll off screen via OSC:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bkQDVHXCxcs

hepi.yellow
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2021 08:10
Location: Israel

Re: Bug: Scroll Layers and Clips into view

Post by hepi.yellow »

While we're at it,

Aside from fixing this,
I think there should also be an OSC address for controlling the scroll offset directly.

Something like:

Code: Select all

/composition/scroll/layeroffset

Code: Select all

/composition/scroll/clipoffset
The use-case I am thinking of is when I have many clips in one layer, and I want to navigate them by "pagination" (jumping 10 or 20 clips right or left).
(Decks are not a viable alternative for this, they are something else)

User avatar
Arvol
Might as well join the team
Posts: 2772
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Bug: Scroll Layers and Clips into view

Post by Arvol »

/application/ui/clipsscrollhorizontal

/application/ui/clipsscrollvertical

Both are a 0-1 Float so build your buttons to increment by .1 or whatever you like :)

RickW
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 19:09

Re: Bug: Scroll Layers and Clips into view

Post by RickW »

That doesn't work because the value and position is variable based on the number of columns in the deck. A incremental value of '0.1' will not produce consistent scroll behavior.

User avatar
Arvol
Might as well join the team
Posts: 2772
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Bug: Scroll Layers and Clips into view

Post by Arvol »

10 layers in deck
.1 moves the slider over 10%

100 layers in deck
.1 moves the slider over 10%

So if you need it to scale based upon your deck length then you'll need additional logic to determine the length of the decks, then figure out how much you want it to moved and then plug that into a formula that will scale based upon how many columns you have so that it will always be the same amount moved. You'll need to use the "?" OSC query to help with this.

It can be done, just isn't going to be out of the box.

RickW
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2018 19:09

Re: Bug: Scroll Layers and Clips into view

Post by RickW »

Arvol wrote: Sat Oct 23, 2021 03:37
It can be done, just isn't going to be out of the box.
This is currently my scoped work around, but having Resolume obey the set preferences when using OSC seems like the proper solution.

User avatar
Arvol
Might as well join the team
Posts: 2772
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Bug: Scroll Layers and Clips into view

Post by Arvol »

Another thing I thought of this morning was to find your deck with the most columns, and at the end, create a new column and add a Blank source to it, then make that source persistent. this way your scroll rate will be the same throughout all of your decks, but that also means you will have a bunch of empty columns on some of your other decks.

Post Reply