RTMP support

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
Post Reply
dirtyjohn_lv
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 365
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 22:24
Location: Las Vegas, NV

RTMP support

Post by dirtyjohn_lv »

It would be nice to have RTMP push support instead of having to NDI to another machine just to send a stream out.

burner
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2020 09:50

Re: RTMP support

Post by burner »

I agree. RTMP or any popular open stream format would be good. Problem with NDI is that it is not opensource -> hardware for it is expensieve and it is not hardware accelerated. Example with large video walls it would be usefull to have support for some of common streams. It allow users to use chinese stream to hdmi boxes or even miracast or raspi receivers.

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: RTMP support

Post by Arvol »

RTMP is a tricky one. By Adobe's licensing agreement you can NOT implement RTMP streaming from any application that also supports a Record function.

This is straight from Adobe's user license agreement (RTMP Specification License Copyright © 2003−2009 Adobe Systems Incorporated. All rights reserved. Published April 2009):
Prohibited Uses The rights and licenses granted by Adobe in the RTMP Specification, including those granted in the Patent License, are conditioned upon Your agreement to use the RTMP Specification for only streaming video, audio and/or data content and not to make, have made, use, sell, offer to sell, import or distribute: (i) any technology that intercepts streaming video, audio and/or data content for storage in any device or medium; or (ii) any technology that circumvents technological measures for the protection of audio, video and/or data content, including any of Adobe’s secure RTMP measures. No right or license to any Adobe intellectual property is granted for such prohibited uses.
https://wwwimages2.adobe.com/content/da ... se_1.0.pdf

SRT would probably be a more viable option for what you're looking to achieve at the moment since there are less restrictions on using it.

Empyfree
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 280
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 23:36

Re: RTMP support

Post by Empyfree »

It could be a toggle.

Two way option slider, one end has “Enable Recording Functions”. The other has “Enable RTMP functions”

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1335
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: RTMP support

Post by Arvol »

Could be, but this is a pretty heavy feature to overhaul and bring in. Spout to OBS is a much quicker solution atm. And from what I've been hearing behind the scenes of every major show lately, is that SRT seems to be future over RTMP and RTSP

deflost
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 71
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 23:10

Re: RTMP support

Post by deflost »

hello.
we have to say also that in our daily work srt comes up and rtmp goes slowly to sleep.
also all our kiloview en/decoder are able to stream srt side by side with ndi, so we learn the Advatages of srt in the last month. it is much more faster and much more easy to setup serversided.

thx.

r.h.
westfernsehen, leipzig

visions
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 13:56

Re: RTMP support

Post by visions »

A cheap option is using OBS with spout-source plugin and Resolume spout. It is cheap in resources and very low latency compared with ndi. Also, in OBS you can install the multiple rtmp output in order to stream to various targets simultaneously.

Post Reply