Where to start with controlling LED strips through Resolume

Bro, does your rig even lift?
demonknight
Met Resolume in a bar the other day

Where to start with controlling LED strips through Resolume

Post by demonknight »

Hello,
I really need some help here and guidance on where to start with controlling LED strips through Resolume arena 5. I am seeing this being accomplished with either a Arduino uno, or raspberry pi. (or whatever else can accomplish this task effectively and inexpensively)
I am a complete beginner on this subject BTW, and while I see this being done on elsewhere on YouTube I have not stumbled across any good in depth tutorials on where to start that aren't completely overwhelming, and or over complicated.
I am seeing this article and it appears that in order to communicate with the led strips I may be required to use a DMX output device such as the "Enttec Open DMX USB
Are there work arounds to accoumplishing this communication without a DMX device?
I need to know if this is required and or a what other inexpensive & compatable dmx devices for my particular application are needed. (if need be I am required to use a dmx output device)

Inevitably I would like to create a fully controllable yet simple "led dj facade" and perhaps some wifi
controlled led wearable clothing, or these fans that I could also control when I vj through Resolume.

phpBB [video]

Any advice or direction would be greatly helpful. Thank you in advance ;)
Attachments
LED dj fACADE eXAMPLE (2).jpg
LED dj fACADE eXAMPLE (2).jpg (38.08 KiB) Viewed 37656 times

Joris
Doesn't Know Jack about VJ'ing or Software Development and Mostly Just Gets Coffee for Everyone

Re: Where to start with controlling LED strips through Resol

Post by Joris »

Your best bet is to use DMX and Artnet, because the protocol is well established, easy to use and natively supported in Resolume.