Page 1 of 1
A way to see if a deck has loaded via OSC?
Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 15:08
by Zoltán
hi, i am making a a simple remote tool for arena via osc,
and trying to determine if a deck has loaded all clips when switched,
I see that there are osc messages coming from resolume with deck load messages, trying to count them, but the number of messages does not seem to be coherent. If I restart resolume sometimes the number of those messages are different.
Is there a better way to find out if the deck has loaded via OSC?
Re: OSC manual
Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 15:27
by gradek
@ravensc,
I'm curious what messages you are seeing when a deck is loading. You should be able to trigger and get confirmation of a deck load with the following OSC command.
/composition/deck#/select
# = the position of the deck order 1-10+
Are you trying to get confirmation of what clips have loaded? I too am looking for this feature, this would allow for controllers to light up clip location when each clip would send an OSC message on deck switch. You can see the clips triggering individually.
Ideally something like /layer1/clip1/load
Re: OSC manual
Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2014 19:33
by Zoltán
selecting and switching decks works, but the feedback is not always the same
5 deck composition,
for example if deck 1 is active and I select deck 2 on the remote controller program
sent: localhost:7000 /composition/deck2/select
recieved:
/composition/deck2/select : 1
/composition/deck2/select : 1
/composition/deck1/select : 0
/composition/deck2/select : 1
/composition/deck2/select : 1
/composition/deck1/select : 0
/composition/deck2/select : 1
/composition/deck3/select : 0
/composition/deck4/select : 0
/composition/deck5/select : 0
10 messages
then if I select deck 1 via remote
sent: localhost:7000 /composition/deck1/select
recieved:
/composition/deck1/select : 1
/composition/deck1/select : 1
/composition/deck1/select : 1
/composition/deck2/select : 0
/composition/deck1/select : 1
/composition/deck2/select : 0
/composition/deck3/select : 0
/composition/deck4/select : 0
/composition/deck5/select : 0
9 messages.
then select deck 3 via remote
sent: localhost:7000 /composition/deck3/select
recieved:
/composition/deck3/select : 1
/composition/deck3/select : 1
/composition/deck1/select : 0
/composition/deck3/select : 1
/composition/deck3/select : 1
/composition/deck1/select : 0
/composition/deck2/select : 0
/composition/deck3/select : 1
/composition/deck4/select : 0
/composition/deck5/select : 0
10 messages.
now I close Resolume and re-open
deck 1 is active, I select deck 2 via remote
sent: localhost:7000 /composition/deck2/select
recieved:
/composition/deck2/select : 1
/composition/deck1/select : 0
/composition/deck2/select : 1
/composition/deck2/select : 1
/composition/deck1/select : 0
/composition/deck2/select : 1
/composition/deck3/select : 0
/composition/deck4/select : 0
/composition/deck5/select : 0
only 9 messages.
select deck 3 via remote
sent: localhost:7000 /composition/deck3/select
recieved:
/composition/deck3/select : 1
/composition/deck2/select : 0
/composition/deck3/select : 1
/composition/deck3/select : 1
/composition/deck1/select : 0
/composition/deck2/select : 0
/composition/deck3/select : 1
/composition/deck4/select : 0
/composition/deck5/select : 0
9 messages
so I am trying to count the recieved with integer=1 but sometimes I get 4 then 5.
on the next restart I get 10 messages back.
on the next I get 10,
on the next I get 9.
on the next I get 9.
i ended up making an adaptive subroutine, which waits 30 seconds for the 5th "1" value, but on some compositions I have decks that load longer.
and I have to launch the next column, so there is no time to wait the 40 seconds for loading confirmation.
if there could be a simple osc message like
/composition/deck#/loaded
that would be ideal.
by the way, I am loading the composition xml file directly into my remote, so I know where my cues are.
Re: A way to see if a deck has loaded via OSC?
Posted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 09:00
by Joris
We've been throwing querying Resolume via OSC around the office a bit lately. It's a good idea, but if we're going to implement it, it's going to be a while from now.
So for now, things like this will have to be hacked using the existing implementation.
Perhaps checking the address patterns for the last deck message? In your example /composition/deck5/select always seems to come in last.
Re: A way to see if a deck has loaded via OSC?
Posted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 10:29
by Zoltán
Joris wrote:
Perhaps checking the address patterns for the last deck message? In your example /composition/deck5/select always seems to come in last.
yes, that will work, thanks, I have counted the messages with "1". why havent I thought of that?
one other thing, I have 4 decks in the xml file, yet there is an empty 5th when opened.
does resolume always, put an empty deck after the saved ones?
and as I see if I have only one deck saved in the xml, there are two empty ones when opened. Is this always the case?
Re: A way to see if a deck has loaded via OSC?
Posted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 14:19
by Joris
The deck behaviour you describe is indeed expected behaviour.
Re: A way to see if a deck has loaded via OSC?
Posted: Tue Apr 15, 2014 15:56
by Zoltán
thanks for the info!