Page 1 of 1

How to remove "Open Composition?" Dialog box in Resolume

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2022 01:46
by DaleReindeer
Working on dialing in some automated and unattended installations and I am running into a UI type thing and am curious if there is a way to resolve it.

At the top level I am curious if there is a way to disable the "Open Composition!" dialog box? To be sure it says, "Open Composition! Do you really want to open a composition? All unsaved progress will be lost." It then has the options of: "Cancel", "Open", "Save & Open".

See included images below...

This happens when I have composition A open and I click, launch, or schedule a composition B.

I looked through preferences but only saw a box for "Display Quit Confirmation on Close", which is similar...

Can this be disabled?

The reason I ask is because when a user would use a tool like Windows Scheduler to launch certain compositions everyday there sometimes is the need to launch a special one for say, New Years. Now imagine there are 2 special days each month.

One solution is to create a Scheduler event that closes Resolume and then make another that launches the correct one. If you only launch, and don't close, you get the dialog box. Which, in an unattended use case, just sits there...

So, I ask this so I don't have to make 2 entries for every special date.

Perhaps there is a deeper settings menu somewhere?

Maybe I can launch it with a terminal command and special flags like -d (as in launch without dialog??).

I hope the description of the problem was clear enough for some tips or ideas.

Thanks all!
Screen Shot 2022-12-19 at 5.35.58 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-12-19 at 5.35.58 PM.png (53.34 KiB) Viewed 2464 times
Screen Shot 2022-12-19 at 5.35.31 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-12-19 at 5.35.31 PM.png (108.18 KiB) Viewed 2464 times

Re: How to remove "Open Composition?" Dialog box in Resolume

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2022 14:56
by Arvol
You could also schedule a pause followed by a left/right/enter keystroke to your setup.

Re: How to remove "Open Composition?" Dialog box in Resolume

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2022 17:28
by Zoltán
You can pass a command line argument similar to this to Resolume:

Code: Select all

/Applications/Resolume Arena/Arena.app/Contents/MacOS/Arena --suppressCompositionChangeConfirmation 'path_to_comp.avc'

Re: How to remove "Open Composition?" Dialog box in Resolume

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2022 19:37
by DaleReindeer
Arvol wrote: Tue Dec 20, 2022 14:56 You could also schedule a pause followed by a left/right/enter keystroke to your setup.
What do you mean? As a command line thing or within Scheduler?

Re: How to remove "Open Composition?" Dialog box in Resolume

Posted: Tue Dec 20, 2022 19:37
by DaleReindeer
Zoltán wrote: Tue Dec 20, 2022 17:28 You can pass a command line argument similar to this to Resolume:

Code: Select all

/Applications/Resolume Arena/Arena.app/Contents/MacOS/Arena --suppressCompositionChangeConfirmation 'path_to_comp.avc'
This is great to know, thank you for the tip. Could this apply to Win 10 where I am trying to solve this issue?

I'll try it out once I get the new testing rig finished today.

Re: How to remove "Open Composition?" Dialog box in Resolume

Posted: Wed Dec 21, 2022 13:09
by Zoltán
Sure, simply exchange the executable path.

Re: How to remove "Open Composition?" Dialog box in Resolume

Posted: Thu Dec 22, 2022 19:31
by DaleReindeer
Thanks I will note that!

Also, where would I have found this on my own? Is there a manual, PDF, book, or otherwise that I can reference?

I mean maybe there are more magic spells I can make use of?

Re: How to remove "Open Composition?" Dialog box in Resolume

Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2023 17:49
by Zoltán
The release notes might have it, not sure which version though ;)

Re: How to remove "Open Composition?" Dialog box in Resolume

Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2023 23:24
by DaleReindeer
Thanks for the clue. I swear anything command line is like a magic spell past down through the ages from mage to mage.

I do appreciate the efforts though!

Re: How to remove "Open Composition?" Dialog box in Resolume

Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2023 19:37
by DaleReindeer
I just wanted to follow up on this. Magic! Works great. For anyone else looking to replicate on Windows 10 using Task Scheduler do it like this:

Action: Start a Program
Program/Script: "C:\Program Files\Resolume Avenue\Avenue.exe"
Add Arguments: --suppressCompositionChangeConfirmation "C:\Users\YOURUSERNAME\Documents\Resolume Avenue\Compositions\YOURCOMPNAME.avc"

Then, if you have a composition running, and need to load one on top (for a special day/time, etc) then use the above and it will auto load and switch without the prompt. Incredibly handy for automated installations.