16bit DMX fixtures and pixel drawing

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
Username739266
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 22:28
Location: Los Angeles

Re: 16bit DMX fixtures and pixel drawing

Post by Username739266 »

Zoltán wrote:
Tue May 05, 2020 14:55
If you want to pull specific channels of the fixture, maybe you can do that in a lighting console.
Thanks for the response, I didn't see it until now.

As far as controlling from a console that is indeed something we do. In this case I don't think the console could do it directly as it would be a media server side thing. Let me try to give a better use case scenario. On a film set we might have 10 or 20 screens at 1080p, 150 Astera tubes in 16 pixel RGB mode, 50 Martin VDO Sceptron 10s and dozens of film lights that are actively moved. Depending on where the camera lands and where actors are we need to be able to adjust the brightness and color in logical groupings quickly. So for most of my projects I'd break it down similar to how slices are currently used; by wall, art piece and type. Then when the camera looks in direction one and sees 3 screens directly on, 4 from an off angle and a mix of the tubes and sceptrons we can take their groupings and adjust the brightness and color to appear appropriately/uniform on camera. Currently in Resolume I can compensate for this slowly by going through each group and adjusting the IRGB values. What this doesn't solve is (1) being able to do it quickly or repeatedly and (2) being able to tie it into cue'd looks. Example 2 is needed because every clip has a colorspace that will render differently on every lighting instrument used. In person shows rarely care that blue on a Sceptron is a different part of the spectrum than a Titan but in the film world we do care and we have to make them match.

I understand that the film/tv/commercial/music video world is not the target audience of Resolume. This feature is currently only in MBOX (not madrix or arkaos) and would open yourself up to a lot more customers. We are a user base with a lot of money that buy a lot of tools, I could also see the base utilizing the artist content if the licenses allowed.

Username739266
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2019 22:28
Location: Los Angeles

Re: 16bit DMX fixtures and pixel drawing

Post by Username739266 »

Zoltán wrote:
Tue May 05, 2020 14:55

This way you could also have presets made in your effect clips, and use them on demand.

If you want to pull specific channels of the fixture, maybe you can do that in a lighting console.
Thanks, I've been using this on my last TV show. I also found I can do similar with Video Router; pair a fixture to the layer and then the layer references the other layers. This seems to have limits because the layers stack and then reference each other. This has led to another issue/need in that it would be nice (or if it's a thing I don't know how to do it) is to copy and offset DMX settings. So I can take the time to make a complete/complicated layer control and then just copy that with a +40 offset or whatever to the other layers. This would also make making a small RGB control layer on those slices/video routers easy as well.

So far I'm making it work, I can just see this won't scale very quickly without some automation.

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 4621
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: 16bit DMX fixtures and pixel drawing

Post by Zoltán »

Slice transform effects can also be used with Fixtures. If you can run an RGB adjust effect together with such a Slice transform, you could have grouped control of your fixture color corrections.
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Post Reply