Recursion Effect in Wire

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
idrajit
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2020 19:54

Recursion Effect in Wire

Post by idrajit »

Hey guyss

This isn't particularly a bug. (I promise it's me, not you <3)

I'm trying to create a recursion effect kind of like this:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VamsvLHaSXU&t=207s

Basically it takes the input video, waits a bit (delay) then repeats the input with a slight offset/maybe different scale and rotation and just repeats this over and over again.

I've been trying to play around with Wire for a bit, but I can't seem to find a way to duplicate that source video. Mirror doesn't allow me to choose the offset distance. And then I would face the issue of looping that indefinitely.

Anybody have any clue how I could do this?
Thanks! :)

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1772
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Recursion Effect in Wire

Post by Arvol »

I believe we will need Meshes to do this and that is on the roadmap, so for right now, you could use the radial or linear cloner in Arena but for Wire it might take an update for few to get there?

edwin
Team Resolume
Posts: 1157
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 10:40

Re: Recursion Effect in Wire

Post by edwin »

@idrajit Basically you just need a list of Textures and feed it to a Transform effect, use the Transform effect to position your individual Textures.
This list of Textures can of course all the be same Texture but in the video you see they use a Delay. We have a Delay node in Wire, it only allows one frame delay though so if you need more Delay you'll need to create a couple of them (We will open up the possibility to have more than one frame Delay in the near future ).

I attached a simple Delay Grid example, just paste it in Wire, set the Category to Effect give it a name and save it, it should appear as Effect in the Effect List of Arena/Avenue.
It has a Delay of 16 Textures, the Textures are transformed using the Grid pattern node but feel free to replace it with anything you see fit.

@arvol, The Mesh system does not necessarily make it easier but it will make it more performant. Right now the Transform node produces 16 Textures at Patch Size and that makes this currently a tad slow.


--begin-wire-patch--
1900.3oc2assaiaCD8WYgd1Tfb387lukhVTzVf121lGTrkiEphTfsb2c6B+u2gR1VVwLRVa1jVaD.GGkCGRNmgyLbH0WClkmkEOqHIOacvMe7qAKVk+H9EvNHHeSwSaJnA2MHnH28LyffjrpGscPMTyoP4TuPcO9DnL+PYmB0ORO.A+CTOct+99TfBu.EmBTd15H0ffYKiPseZ2JoZrrN0R0XgtzS0P4coopgJ5RWUCU1k1pFppATYaP0cA0ucZqTfoAzCF+0VT1yUlL+FerV0o1Nwx7apxZU+y5FLyukMqUxhw5DLy+BAVqLKC5DLS4WtpVkKuSvLse4paUthNAy7aLxZ0Zj0bgC3St6cF1TrnY5p304oabdzO.Fa+5j+ItAT7YOEUTDupFF.9jI3wZzMhJVEksNMppiNFO+zUOnHVOKJs4H.DmBDY70woUAjZ.V4EqGMqGfnpBCyUDkjEup4HvWri8hsoMNHOUt5Z0E9rr74wXLzuFvbefp1UI2uon5QKRy+j62Ee4o3fap9yAA+cT5F2etN4grnzfs6mOjJXGfW9qZ3EwetXypXXdUKVWDkMqpa1gOayi2iyzCsfsEAde9lr4knVFm7vxhfabAZ9Tx7hkHBKN89L9HFOzvnFIPkTsg4l0eI3FoVDxMVoQKn.Wv0RTfyRiVWJuj4Xep0JqFTRhXzzoDggeKwdKXHrQCk2BLlkOYjaDEuZsiZugVJg7Y+E11+NYdbdPII4lLEURshZORKbXZeXhksIM0M2VlLedLJzO5ngnGcnmDmF8EmBh4gNNKklxuVy.0ZMNTp0X.HBoLiRqzxZsllERoVTswAglpob7e7x5MTsMjHlvMDyzoRBc5nghwilPGNcZ+0asq19nSuM362G28BbveT00e3WwAjiIfqtEFZsMjZDRqvwgJ3RZcA+piMvuDhLhhd3wWPzg35iNDpPgVnn1Kq.FxqOlvPCYJqhoTVKvLWTzg5piNrtGqDJ3BLaJ80GaHzgRoUg+ag9RKHt45iNLrPPJPGUcmy7+6nC6IzgWsAipNQcP.fiYunUbt5fa5RMBgwKUIZKpLrcYhFOSIHBwBM4dgPQlGCQT.nyj2a5iNw+L82hJls7C+X1hb2z85KedE0bwtQWvyFcOT1Cx7jGiyVWUl+C8zQOrdygL0caOpfI8giNO12KGIMmvQJtNjqYkoOVxNBpizDbESpgt1u0P8jIDwXqfXUSmP37gSQ4nlNTMrWzSckidm2S8ff4adJMYVTQCa96yySq61EQoqi2VVzukaVrHsASsJ4gGNd4QoUjq.awyOBVRVQbCXzFVZGOJ101ZiueeWm5L+.e0YAMs6v.BMRhJfydEtZ6tRIdlh0u+WOdDNwZSYCAM5gfw3RPxszVM2r.ftDnTKwNAlPj2ZrloVw3wbduL2PEvx7UMWD4lH0FZejNfd2f2rOuau24+iGCqxKpps7yFFGMJPns8yc6MUZclvFvvd8s5S2X33Bk+eoN8EJRmazsHe0ikKheEEEZYzZxiQe9EcUUrZS7dXIYcA67B2OHnYO9bDfCQiN64HnmQUdoMRPCSNvT5LnzKAC2ZMlp.SAFASaUst25I.GcRfQfHiTJFgBCGMUJGqgau8UUi2msvfF5RbogS7cmSQsi6x0ENF+UU2oyiixep3YId3BfdjH+Ez7KJ8Oy1ENoLWhcMhjuXw53h2PFDL1PDgAcXaAYGkMTFMmSDQHMZ4ywjsUKhky.AnkzWEC1UP3myeiWlmLKFyDujCkuwbXYP28GKWGAd2OS1t6LGaew4YmbYmb7gv3pPkvXnMhkCBYnVYjTikgwyg1IYkwZwko1wDCtBkXEVMSQ4bgf9cOy92h7F2c7ku68a8I21hgc2Qs8Gm5GvLPKM10ea4Y1+MS9lkpoU.gB.rZtpxTr5rjngRthpsBpRyMcXidUmu46j856UJlzPjhce3lxWbe+RKE1quRhJTvkaUoruf6ZZOJI0ceSbyQWDp5FLqLwoiZRUIM+cWpJtEyQO9TZR1Cs0heNIKNZUvYypFHjJkn6dijIUGwoLglyMFkt8SjanXHRoraGRL39LHlwzIRwnwR4H86Ikt61b3zRWeWc.kfewtDiSu9tvYzKX53J79+InWrzw028pQo0Wrrw02cqQyXWrrwq3p0f5Qxtaqdmah90UjGAy3sJOBgjq4R9QIU4BaHofVnjFni6N.1VfHf4QDkjGStWIXyEQBbe0h9c9f6eGd5lMN5k3oOf6mn6mrgdgl2KzhdgV1Gz8ZX2qQcuFz8ZLq5CXce.a5CX62raieJOorbyZe2yfzMOl0li.wYe8.b0k4SsKpy8FD.tZpYjFlT.kGMy9BsQYbN5FfodgSrgyAnpTvb9DhfKEjQSmXHZ93ISmR4b839s2qmUJ7SpbByBzAXvkWt7mqRl+gea2KrCB45qJGZg7hMPp8a7cLomGcEnTXp3RPWpdpRFzDZQUo0Z1GIrkWwDXHFxaLaLwLVLl.Vlbh1LdrYp868qXxIJsSNAq8ubHtivZWwZ1rpRcsc6+BGzGmSC
--end-wire-patch--

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1772
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Recursion Effect in Wire

Post by Arvol »

That's a nifty little Wire embeded code in your reply :)

edwin
Team Resolume
Posts: 1157
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 10:40

Re: Recursion Effect in Wire

Post by edwin »

@arvol, if you use 'Copy for Sharing' in Wire and paste it here the forum will pick that up and show the nice buttons. We are looking at a Slack plug-in for this as well.

User avatar
Arvol
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1772
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Recursion Effect in Wire

Post by Arvol »

WOW! I'm impressed! :D

subset
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 08:41

Re: Recursion Effect in Wire

Post by subset »

I'm also looking to create 'recursion'-like effects – basically apply delay to duplicates of the same texture. Alternatively, I'd like a way to manipulate the playhead on separate instances of a texture.

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 5161
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Recursion Effect in Wire

Post by Zoltán »

Here is a simple 30 frames delay chain ;)
You write the current texture into a 30 instance texture, shift it by one, and add delay to the whole, and feed it back.
The beauty of this is, that you don't need to place Delay nodes to change the size of the buffer, and adding joins, or splits, just set the instance count on the existing Delay.

--begin-wire-patch--
768.3oc4W89iZBCF9ekk9Y5BzVDvug.lrOsjskrjY7CbRUaF1Zfx7tbg+22aAQwImddYKalkKoWs482OO7129LZgRJ4KzBkrDMd1ynkEpMvFhERUo2VosQysPZEbjiERHgSPyqsNHG6b4nVFipSERdw0j0cHa5btbrWxl1cx1WzejlWwOQL54ljr20vI0vYRUFGp.OirMKoZcg3gJc6QBYoNUtn8G5m1xQiQxpMO.wRmyF6TWagdPUIyZjZMWrZsFM1GbyNQldMHAEB1GQiG48dHseBMlRfcfVKxSKa8SFXXOuQAdjQt3IjPBlE4Dg8iXQXRfiarmeTjeRfws7hR.zPisarfZw2Ac+gHiqPM0JSDq2G8lxywHWyeTWUvIYGCdYUdtI9WKxx3fMm0gJPcIciQouzpz69fDAx4LTMBT.25hitx7uCdommqsdUEUpI4JWjlyuhkWlqR0DzvXPSguCDBba.ApOaOJLx9hnP.g3hY11A3fXRL1cpe...rnHJ8lPAHUWqJ5kA6C4C4vLfKaO25tZcds0qgdMyvur9WawD7EJcptA.OEW5E6Pd9V+adG68hvtikCTNumVM4ktHUVlOXw6tmT2uSXuVflLdopXio6E47NfPtu6zRwtdcnJEqjo4ntOXr+CzpbvleC16yceuOWRvk58wljjfY9zo3foDeryjP2oDGm.Z7ja+FH66ydDCyEh44oOYfF547fCCpfyDa3xx1QqNj68N7XxSa5UbTyafb75ncCxMb8u.2fQuH2HzKNFlNIfgCFk.2K5DlP8B+VR3nvahabbrt6zqPTKWVx6eAnPp4qNazvAHQedsXo1.gr+5jHgLi+3M3JiiZ1+lz4FBrcEoa2Jjq5INLGkXQeE9DeKGtx95CfeFG+JSf+KbbVHKj54N5+ONdC83RTb65Cauo2Yb7iguVHzbCh691d+0Kc+2IO.izf+dAzt6+rYW7EXIIgXVL0G6mj3hsSlDxhlDaGlj769EX2WW+08ZvOV09YWAuTUUzBP00+DvHEKSr
--end-wire-patch--
Theatre sound engineer, photographer, programmer, aka ravensc.
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu
VJ footage: https://goo.gl/58oHy7

Post Reply