how to cycle through video clips on beat}???

Just let it all out, buddy. You're among friends here.
User avatar
He2neg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 868
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 21:34
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: how to cycle through video clips on beat}???

Post by He2neg »

True, but the long video stuff "cant" be on beat, like you allways wanted.

It can be played in the background and differnt stuff need to be done to get a beat.... strobe / fisheye / overlay videos /random jumps in the playmode etc etc...
Laptop: XMG P507 // Intel i7-5500 / GTX-1060 / 1tb SSD / 32gb RAM // Lemur / BirdDog Studio NDI
~self employed AV technician / Schu.VT|a|posteo.de~
~Berlin~

User avatar
vj8k3
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 05:31
Location: Hawi Hawaii

Re: how to cycle through video clips on beat}???

Post by vj8k3 »

He2neg wrote: โ†‘Mon Mar 08, 2021 22:03 True, but the long video stuff "cant" be on beat, like you allways wanted.

It can be played in the background and differnt stuff need to be done to get a beat.... strobe / fisheye / overlay videos /random jumps in the playmode etc etc...
yes this is what I suspected and have been messing with. It was a small element that confused me. Im sinking one layer to BPM and one layer to external fft and then just playing one long layer and I think that might be my thing for now

because even the layer thats longer can still seem on beat too, like some moments fit up really well with the music, and some dont but its like your brain fills in the space and it can still look on but off in a cool way.
๐Ÿ‘ฎโ™Ÿ ลŸ๐•„๐•†โ“šแ—ด โ„‚ัโ“โ„ƒ๏ฝ‹ ๅ„๏ผกฮนฤน ๐“ˆฮ”โ“‰๐’ถล‡ ๐Ÿ˜ŽโœŒ


Asus pro duo
Intell cor I7
16 gig ram
Gforce rtx 2060
mouse

User avatar
vj8k3
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 05:31
Location: Hawi Hawaii

Re: how to cycle through video clips on beat}???

Post by vj8k3 »

this is what iv come up with so far. I know I missed a Bypass on one of the effects. And that I prob should have transitioned between a few different clips per song. But I forgot how to change the effect between the clip transitions so I just went without it.



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CbwVYgVN1Q8


please tell me what you think. Also what you think in regards to timing (since thats what this post was originally about)
๐Ÿ‘ฎโ™Ÿ ลŸ๐•„๐•†โ“šแ—ด โ„‚ัโ“โ„ƒ๏ฝ‹ ๅ„๏ผกฮนฤน ๐“ˆฮ”โ“‰๐’ถล‡ ๐Ÿ˜ŽโœŒ


Asus pro duo
Intell cor I7
16 gig ram
Gforce rtx 2060
mouse

User avatar
He2neg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 868
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 21:34
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: how to cycle through video clips on beat}???

Post by He2neg »

I think you got it.

Next would be to get some midi controller and mapp the stuff so it fits your workflow and you dont need the mouse that much. Using the mouse for layer opacity is just a pain ***.

Korg Nano should do it for the start

Have fun and come back when you are famous
Laptop: XMG P507 // Intel i7-5500 / GTX-1060 / 1tb SSD / 32gb RAM // Lemur / BirdDog Studio NDI
~self employed AV technician / Schu.VT|a|posteo.de~
~Berlin~

User avatar
vj8k3
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 05:31
Location: Hawi Hawaii

Re: how to cycle through video clips on beat}???

Post by vj8k3 »

He2neg wrote: โ†‘Tue Mar 09, 2021 08:40 I think you got it.

Next would be to get some midi controller and mapp the stuff so it fits your workflow and you dont need the mouse that much. Using the mouse for layer opacity is just a pain ***.

Korg Nano should do it for the start

Have fun and come back when you are famous
someone said it only looked good when it was on beat but it wasen't on beat the entire time...which is exactly what I was having a problem with to begin with
๐Ÿ‘ฎโ™Ÿ ลŸ๐•„๐•†โ“šแ—ด โ„‚ัโ“โ„ƒ๏ฝ‹ ๅ„๏ผกฮนฤน ๐“ˆฮ”โ“‰๐’ถล‡ ๐Ÿ˜ŽโœŒ


Asus pro duo
Intell cor I7
16 gig ram
Gforce rtx 2060
mouse

User avatar
vj8k3
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 05:31
Location: Hawi Hawaii

Re: how to cycle through video clips on beat}???

Post by vj8k3 »

He2neg wrote: โ†‘Tue Mar 09, 2021 08:40 I think you got it.

Next would be to get some midi controller and mapp the stuff so it fits your workflow and you dont need the mouse that much. Using the mouse for layer opacity is just a pain ***.

Korg Nano should do it for the start

Have fun and come back when you are famous
why do you say the Korg nano? and do you know which model you suggest specifically? I thought it would make sence to get a controller with a lot more sliders on it then pads.

My hand def was getting tired from editing/ mixing and the mouse seems very limiting
๐Ÿ‘ฎโ™Ÿ ลŸ๐•„๐•†โ“šแ—ด โ„‚ัโ“โ„ƒ๏ฝ‹ ๅ„๏ผกฮนฤน ๐“ˆฮ”โ“‰๐’ถล‡ ๐Ÿ˜ŽโœŒ


Asus pro duo
Intell cor I7
16 gig ram
Gforce rtx 2060
mouse

User avatar
vj8k3
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 05:31
Location: Hawi Hawaii

Re: how to cycle through video clips on beat}???

Post by vj8k3 »

thats my problem the music wasent even connecting with external fft....so I was thinking it was connected to the music and thinking it was on beat when it wasent....how did I not notice? or anyone of the 20 ppl who watched it?
๐Ÿ‘ฎโ™Ÿ ลŸ๐•„๐•†โ“šแ—ด โ„‚ัโ“โ„ƒ๏ฝ‹ ๅ„๏ผกฮนฤน ๐“ˆฮ”โ“‰๐’ถล‡ ๐Ÿ˜ŽโœŒ


Asus pro duo
Intell cor I7
16 gig ram
Gforce rtx 2060
mouse

User avatar
vj8k3
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 05:31
Location: Hawi Hawaii

Re: how to cycle through video clips on beat}???

Post by vj8k3 »

and i remember reading this article before. just re read it
https://zerotovj.com/should-you-use-aud ... e-visuals/


Do you think someone could write a small program that listens to the song the dj is playing and then looks up the BPM for you?
๐Ÿ‘ฎโ™Ÿ ลŸ๐•„๐•†โ“šแ—ด โ„‚ัโ“โ„ƒ๏ฝ‹ ๅ„๏ผกฮนฤน ๐“ˆฮ”โ“‰๐’ถล‡ ๐Ÿ˜ŽโœŒ


Asus pro duo
Intell cor I7
16 gig ram
Gforce rtx 2060
mouse

User avatar
He2neg
Wants to marry Resolume, and Resolume said "yes!"
Posts: 868
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 21:34
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: how to cycle through video clips on beat}???

Post by He2neg »

vj8k3 wrote: โ†‘Wed Mar 10, 2021 02:44
why do you say the Korg nano? and do you know which model you suggest specifically? I thought it would make sence to get a controller with a lot more sliders on it then pads.

My hand def was getting tired from editing/ mixing and the mouse seems very limiting

Korg Nano Kontrol2

Its super small and slim....

I did use the faders for layers, the rotarys for opacity of effects and the buttons sometimes for effect parameters or sometimes for bypass or piano trigger the efffect (or the parameter)

Then the bpm controll section as well (tap / dubble / half / pause / resync)


It was enough for many, and small enough to cary it...
Laptop: XMG P507 // Intel i7-5500 / GTX-1060 / 1tb SSD / 32gb RAM // Lemur / BirdDog Studio NDI
~self employed AV technician / Schu.VT|a|posteo.de~
~Berlin~

Post Reply