feature: export composition (incl. all media)

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
Rene
Posts: 388
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:53
Location: Vienna, Austria

feature: export composition (incl. all media)

Post by Rene »

Is it possible to pack a composition together with all media files to a USB memory stick, then copy the composition onto another machine's hard disk to run it from the new location? - I ask because I want to use compositions generated on a Mac on my Windows machine. (including all in and out points, BPM settings, cuepoints, Effects, etc.) - I'm thinking of something similar to Ableton's function where you can export a whole project including all files.

I think it's not possible to do that at the moment, because of the absolute paths in the *.avc files.

Code: Select all

<source type="file" couldContainVideo="1" couldContainAudio="0" name="E:\livefootage\25\01\0004.mov"
I see two possibilities, replace the source paths in the *.avc file manually (what a pain!), or just copy the plain mov files and add all the attibutes (in/out points, BPM, etc.) again - I don't even want to think about that! :(

User avatar
vjloco
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 13:09

Re: feature: export composition (incl. all media)

Post by vjloco »

There is a related problem. Even on the original computer, if you move your video files out of the original location, Resolume simply ignores the clip and removes it from your deck. They first need to find a way to keep track of the original clip, and ask you where it is when it can't find it (like most media programs). Then they might be able to handle the issues you are talking about.
Laptop: Intel Core 2cpu T7200 @2Ghz - 2Gig Ram
Operating system: Windows Vista Ultimate Sp1 X64
Video card: NVIDIA Gforce Go 7600

GeeEs
Posts: 256
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 13:26
Location: Netherlands

Re: feature: export composition (incl. all media)

Post by GeeEs »

rewriting/modding the .avc file shouldn't be such a pain with the "search and replace" function in some texteditors...
Dunno if it will work, will do some tests tonight... But editing the source paths is easy in that way.
desktop: Windows 7 home premium 64 bit, MSI 870A-G54, AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition, 4Gb RAM (GVP34GB1600C9DC), NVidia GTX 560
laptop: Windows 7 home premium 32 bit, Core2duo 2Ghz, 4Gb Ram, NVidia 9600m GT

Rene
Posts: 388
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:53
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: feature: export composition (incl. all media)

Post by Rene »

Yes Find/Replace works (just tested it with a 3 clip composition). Nevertheless IMHO Avenue should support this feature (not my texteditor ;) ). Because even with the find/replace workaround, I have to have the same directory structure on Win and on Mac. If I use video files from different folders to build a composition, I still have to collect the video files from all the different folders.

I've tried to use relative paths and in general it works. (on Windows the root folder is the one of Avenue.exe, not the compositions folder!)

Anyhow - I would really appreciate portable compositions handled by Avenue :)

And yes, I know there are other, more important things on the todo list like Flash or correct UI language translation of the active Column/Spalte (first it is in German, if you activate a clip, it switches to english) - these are the big issues! ;)

Rene
Posts: 388
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:53
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: feature: export composition (incl. all media)

Post by Rene »

Sorry for re-opening this topic, but yesterday I've created a composition on Win and wanted to "copy" it to a Mac. I've replaced the <videoClip> name attributes using find/replace

Code: Select all

<videoClip>
          <source type="file" couldContainVideo="1" couldContainAudio="0" name="/myNewPath/filename.mov"
But there are also absolute references to Plugins/Effects, which are more complicated to modify. - Do I have to update the path to the plugins too? :?

Example:

Code: Select all

      <effects>
        <effect uniquePresetId="10000" fileName="C:\Program Files\Resolume Avenue 3.1.1\plugins\vfx\AVFFGLInvertRGB.dll"

Code: Select all

      <effects>
        <effect uniquePresetId="10000" fileName="/Applications/Resolume Avenue 3.1.2/plugins/vfx/AVFFGLAddSubtract.bundle/Contents/MacOS/AVFFGLAddSubtract"
Is a more sophisticated project/composition management on the roadmap?

u-dopic
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 22:09

Re: feature: export composition (incl. all media)

Post by u-dopic »

now its over a year over and this is still a big issue!

not a single avc can be moved from one computer to another! resolume seems to be a tool to completely mess up your work, if you get a new computer :cry:

is it really so difficult to store relative paths and effect identifiers in the avc files? if you have a look at ableton lives project management concept you'll find IMHO the best concept I've ever seen in any software. it even provides a feature to store everything the project uses 'self-contained' in the project folder. ok, this is a redundancy, but the whole project folder can be taken/renamed/moved anywhere and it works!

please!!!! fix this; it would make resolume really usable!

Rene
Posts: 388
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:53
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: feature: export composition (incl. all media)

Post by Rene »

hey u-dopic,

glad to see that I'm not the only one asking for this feature - or should I say bug fix? - Again, I'd like to express my interest in a solution of this problem!

Joris
Posts: 5186
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: feature: export composition (incl. all media)

Post by Joris »

Hey guys

We are aware of the requests for this, and different forms of a 'collect and gather' feature are regularly discussed in the office. The main issue is that this is quite an incisive procedure, and can result in extremely large amounts of data being moved. So we have to make sure this is absolutely idiot proof before we implement it. I hope that explains the current stand on things!

Joris

User avatar
werlin
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 16:07

Re: feature: export composition (incl. all media)

Post by werlin »

a first big step would be having the slots displaying the names of the missing clips... at least then we can resolve the whole thing trough notepad (not ideal but still very usefull)

User avatar
VJair
Posts: 609
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 21:23
Location: Kent - UK

Re: feature: export composition (incl. all media)

Post by VJair »

werlin wrote:a first big step would be having the slots displaying the names of the missing clips... at least then we can resolve the whole thing trough notepad (not ideal but still very usefull)
sensible idea

Post Reply