SNAPSHOT with OSC?

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
Timesquid
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 08:27

SNAPSHOT with OSC?

Post by Timesquid »

Hi'

So Im wondering if there is any strange workaround anyone might know about to enable snapshot as an OSC message. Ive tried looking into it... cant really find anything... Ive got it to work with Bomes midi translator, but its a lengthy workaround and requires that Arena be the focus app ( which it cant be for my application )...

Im on OSX and have an Arena 4 license.

I was thinking that maybe some internal messages sent through a QC source or some sort of action script maybe?

Does anyone have any insight on this?

- Timesquid

Rene
Posts: 388
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:53
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: SNAPSHOT with OSC?

Post by Rene »

Not sure if this is an option, but have you thought about AppleScript? Maybe it's possible to send a Keyboard Shortcut to Resolume? Is there a AppleScript guru around?

Timesquid
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 08:27

Re: SNAPSHOT with OSC?

Post by Timesquid »

thanks for the tip, after some research, I was able to make an applescript that does it. now I just need to get it excecuting from max

below is the script for anyone interested
----------------------------

tell application "Arena" to activate
menu_click({"Arena", "Output", "Snapshot"})

-- `menu_click`, by Jacob Rus, September 2006
--
-- Accepts a list of form: `{"Finder", "View", "Arrange By", "Date"}`
-- Execute the specified menu item. In this case, assuming the Finder
-- is the active application, arranging the frontmost folder by date.

on menu_click(mList)
local appName, topMenu, r

-- Validate our input
if mList's length < 3 then error "Menu list is not long enough"

-- Set these variables for clarity and brevity later on
set {appName, topMenu} to (items 1 through 2 of mList)
set r to (items 3 through (mList's length) of mList)

-- This overly-long line calls the menu_recurse function with
-- two arguments: r, and a reference to the top-level menu
tell application "System Events" to my menu_click_recurse(r, ((process appName)'s ¬
(menu bar 1)'s (menu bar item topMenu)'s (menu topMenu)))
end menu_click

on menu_click_recurse(mList, parentObject)
local f, r

-- `f` = first item, `r` = rest of items
set f to item 1 of mList
if mList's length > 1 then set r to (items 2 through (mList's length) of mList)

-- either actually click the menu item, or recurse again
tell application "System Events"
if mList's length is 1 then
click parentObject's menu item f
else
my menu_click_recurse(r, (parentObject's (menu item f)'s (menu f)))
end if
end tell
end menu_click_recurse

Post Reply