Simple OSC app to set BPM in Res 5 and 6 at the same time. Made with https://vuo.org/
Please let me know if this works for you and if it is any use.
https://my.pcloud.com/publink/show?code ... 48uzDeSMOV
While making this a couple of questions appeared:
Why did you change the minimum BPM from 2 in R5 to 20 in R6?
I had to use two OSC senders with different port numbers, is that a restriction of OSC?
Why can't the two versions of Resolume listen on the same port?
Simple OSC MacOS app to set BPM in Res 5 and 6 at the same time
-
- Posts: 141
- Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 14:27
Re: Simple OSC MacOS app to set BPM in Res 5 and 6 at the same time
Great idea. I haven't touched Res 5 myself since about a year before 6 was released, but I guess I'm not your target audience 
A server re-using the same port already in use by another server is technically possible, but generally frowned upon. Unless both servers have indicated that it's okay for the other to also use the port, you cannot be sure that both will receive the data. Also, if a server that was previously 'hogging' the port was to suddenly disconnect, the other server can receive half a message, possibly causing all sorts of weirdness.
This is of course really only an issue when you're dealing with applications where receiving half a message or no message makes the difference between life or death. You could argue that in the case of Resolume, we should just always try to share the port and hope for the best.
It might be that the benefits of having shared ports outweigh the frustration of having to figure out that another application is hogging the port. So far, we've stuck to "best practices", which at least makes it very clear when your OSC input port is able to receive something and when it's not.

No real reasonWhy did you change the minimum BPM from 2 in R5 to 20 in R6?
When using OSC, you enter in a server/client relationship. Resolume is the server and you're the client sending messages that change the state of the server.I had to use two OSC senders with different port numbers, is that a restriction of OSC?
Why can't the two versions of Resolume listen on the same port?
A server re-using the same port already in use by another server is technically possible, but generally frowned upon. Unless both servers have indicated that it's okay for the other to also use the port, you cannot be sure that both will receive the data. Also, if a server that was previously 'hogging' the port was to suddenly disconnect, the other server can receive half a message, possibly causing all sorts of weirdness.
This is of course really only an issue when you're dealing with applications where receiving half a message or no message makes the difference between life or death. You could argue that in the case of Resolume, we should just always try to share the port and hope for the best.
It might be that the benefits of having shared ports outweigh the frustration of having to figure out that another application is hogging the port. So far, we've stuck to "best practices", which at least makes it very clear when your OSC input port is able to receive something and when it's not.
-
- Posts: 141
- Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 14:27
Re: Simple OSC MacOS app to set BPM in Res 5 and 6 at the same time
Thanks for the reply Joris. The info is useful and saves me reading the OSC spec 
Target audience is basically just me, but thought I'd share it anyhoo.
Also partly to publicise the ease with which 'useful' things can be built with Vuo. There will be FFGL (for MacOS) export in a coming release apparently
Think I'll try and make another version that finds whatever servers are on the network and reads their port number then instances the BPM to each of them. I may also add an automatic BPM detector.
I'm probably just remaking functions available in Res6 and or Ableton link but it's fun learning how and then clicking make App.

Target audience is basically just me, but thought I'd share it anyhoo.
Also partly to publicise the ease with which 'useful' things can be built with Vuo. There will be FFGL (for MacOS) export in a coming release apparently

Think I'll try and make another version that finds whatever servers are on the network and reads their port number then instances the BPM to each of them. I may also add an automatic BPM detector.
I'm probably just remaking functions available in Res6 and or Ableton link but it's fun learning how and then clicking make App.
Re: Simple OSC MacOS app to set BPM in Res 5 and 6 at the same time
That would be most awesomeThere will be FFGL (for MacOS) export in a coming release apparently
Take a look at Bonjour/Zeroconf. http://opensoundcontrol.org/discovery-o ... al-networkfinds whatever servers are on the network
There is something truly magical about it. "And then other people can just use the thing to do the thing I made to do the thing? Wow."it's fun learning how and then clicking make App
-
- Posts: 141
- Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 14:27
Re: Simple OSC MacOS app to set BPM in Res 5 and 6 at the same time
Here's another version of this MacOS app I quickly knocked up this afternoon.
It automatically finds any OSC servers and their port numbers on the network and sends out the BPM to the first six of them:
https://my.pcloud.com/publink/show?code ... otKLnh9KXX
Tested with only two machines so far so I'd love to hear that it works with more if you try it.
Also as per your comment 'A server re-using the same port already in use by another server is technically possible, but generally frowned upon. Unless both servers have indicated that it's okay for the other to also use the port, you cannot be sure that both will receive the data.' It seems to work fine with both the machines using the same port number
It automatically finds any OSC servers and their port numbers on the network and sends out the BPM to the first six of them:
https://my.pcloud.com/publink/show?code ... otKLnh9KXX
Tested with only two machines so far so I'd love to hear that it works with more if you try it.
Also as per your comment 'A server re-using the same port already in use by another server is technically possible, but generally frowned upon. Unless both servers have indicated that it's okay for the other to also use the port, you cannot be sure that both will receive the data.' It seems to work fine with both the machines using the same port number
