How to remove "Open Composition?" Dialog box in Resolume

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
DaleReindeer
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 20:31

How to remove "Open Composition?" Dialog box in Resolume

Post by DaleReindeer »

Working on dialing in some automated and unattended installations and I am running into a UI type thing and am curious if there is a way to resolve it.

At the top level I am curious if there is a way to disable the "Open Composition!" dialog box? To be sure it says, "Open Composition! Do you really want to open a composition? All unsaved progress will be lost." It then has the options of: "Cancel", "Open", "Save & Open".

See included images below...

This happens when I have composition A open and I click, launch, or schedule a composition B.

I looked through preferences but only saw a box for "Display Quit Confirmation on Close", which is similar...

Can this be disabled?

The reason I ask is because when a user would use a tool like Windows Scheduler to launch certain compositions everyday there sometimes is the need to launch a special one for say, New Years. Now imagine there are 2 special days each month.

One solution is to create a Scheduler event that closes Resolume and then make another that launches the correct one. If you only launch, and don't close, you get the dialog box. Which, in an unattended use case, just sits there...

So, I ask this so I don't have to make 2 entries for every special date.

Perhaps there is a deeper settings menu somewhere?

Maybe I can launch it with a terminal command and special flags like -d (as in launch without dialog??).

I hope the description of the problem was clear enough for some tips or ideas.

Thanks all!
Screen Shot 2022-12-19 at 5.35.58 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-12-19 at 5.35.58 PM.png (53.34 KiB) Viewed 2469 times
Screen Shot 2022-12-19 at 5.35.31 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-12-19 at 5.35.31 PM.png (108.18 KiB) Viewed 2469 times

User avatar
Arvol
Might as well join the team
Posts: 2772
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: How to remove "Open Composition?" Dialog box in Resolume

Post by Arvol »

You could also schedule a pause followed by a left/right/enter keystroke to your setup.

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 7088
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: How to remove "Open Composition?" Dialog box in Resolume

Post by Zoltán »

You can pass a command line argument similar to this to Resolume:

Code: Select all

/Applications/Resolume Arena/Arena.app/Contents/MacOS/Arena --suppressCompositionChangeConfirmation 'path_to_comp.avc'
Software developer, Sound Engineer,
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu

DaleReindeer
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 20:31

Re: How to remove "Open Composition?" Dialog box in Resolume

Post by DaleReindeer »

Arvol wrote: Tue Dec 20, 2022 14:56 You could also schedule a pause followed by a left/right/enter keystroke to your setup.
What do you mean? As a command line thing or within Scheduler?

DaleReindeer
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 20:31

Re: How to remove "Open Composition?" Dialog box in Resolume

Post by DaleReindeer »

Zoltán wrote: Tue Dec 20, 2022 17:28 You can pass a command line argument similar to this to Resolume:

Code: Select all

/Applications/Resolume Arena/Arena.app/Contents/MacOS/Arena --suppressCompositionChangeConfirmation 'path_to_comp.avc'
This is great to know, thank you for the tip. Could this apply to Win 10 where I am trying to solve this issue?

I'll try it out once I get the new testing rig finished today.

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 7088
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: How to remove "Open Composition?" Dialog box in Resolume

Post by Zoltán »

Sure, simply exchange the executable path.
Software developer, Sound Engineer,
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu

DaleReindeer
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 20:31

Re: How to remove "Open Composition?" Dialog box in Resolume

Post by DaleReindeer »

Thanks I will note that!

Also, where would I have found this on my own? Is there a manual, PDF, book, or otherwise that I can reference?

I mean maybe there are more magic spells I can make use of?

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 7088
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: How to remove "Open Composition?" Dialog box in Resolume

Post by Zoltán »

The release notes might have it, not sure which version though ;)
Software developer, Sound Engineer,
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu

DaleReindeer
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 20:31

Re: How to remove "Open Composition?" Dialog box in Resolume

Post by DaleReindeer »

Thanks for the clue. I swear anything command line is like a magic spell past down through the ages from mage to mage.

I do appreciate the efforts though!

DaleReindeer
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2021 20:31

Re: How to remove "Open Composition?" Dialog box in Resolume

Post by DaleReindeer »

I just wanted to follow up on this. Magic! Works great. For anyone else looking to replicate on Windows 10 using Task Scheduler do it like this:

Action: Start a Program
Program/Script: "C:\Program Files\Resolume Avenue\Avenue.exe"
Add Arguments: --suppressCompositionChangeConfirmation "C:\Users\YOURUSERNAME\Documents\Resolume Avenue\Compositions\YOURCOMPNAME.avc"

Then, if you have a composition running, and need to load one on top (for a special day/time, etc) then use the above and it will auto load and switch without the prompt. Incredibly handy for automated installations.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2023-01-26 at 11.34.41 AM.png
Screen Shot 2023-01-26 at 11.34.41 AM.png (78.85 KiB) Viewed 1850 times

Post Reply