Resolume 7.20 Release | New Strokes Effect, Wire Color Types, Hardware & Node Stats, Wire Tutorial Overhaul

Stay up to date with important updates, artist showcases and more
Post Reply
User avatar
bart
Team Resolume
Posts: 2224
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 10:01
Location: Resolume HQ

Resolume 7.20 Release | New Strokes Effect, Wire Color Types, Hardware & Node Stats, Wire Tutorial Overhaul

Post by bart »

phpBB [video]


Wire Color Types
Wire 7.20 introduces the Color Type. This new type allows you to be much more flexible with your color management in Wire. The Color In and Color nodes will now produce a color type. Additionally, we've added the Color from RGB and Color from HSB nodes that increase your color making capabilities. The Analogous Colors and Complementary Colors nodes will produce a color palette for you, based on the input color. The Color Type can be unpacked to get individual components of the color. The much-requested Sample Texture node has also arrived with this update, which allows you to sample colors from a texture. As cherry on the cake, we've updated effects like Hue Rotate, Greyscale, AddSubtract, and Bright.Contrast to accept the Color type, allowing you to apply these effects directly to colors. 🌈
720-color.png
Hardware Stats
For Resolume 7.20, we've updated the way the hardware stats and FPS are displayed in Arena, Avenue, and Wire. The "Show FPS" option in the "output" menu is gone. The option is renamed to "Show FPS & Stats" and has moved to the "view" menu. The hardware stats are now visually the same in all three programs. The hardware stats are displayed in a bar at the bottom of your interface and display the FPS, together with GPU, CPU, and RAM usage.
720-hwstats.png
Node Stats Panel
Continuing the trend of monitoring your performance, we added a new panel to Wire: the stats panel. In this panel, you can track how the load is distributed among your nodes. This is very useful to find where the bottlenecks are in your patch.
720-nodestats.png
720-nodestats.png (104.33 KiB) Viewed 5107 times
CTRL + F Node Search
Searching is a very fast way to find the node you're looking for instead of zooming & panning your way around a big spaghetti patch. Hit CTRL + F on Windows and ⌘ + F on macOS. The Stats panel will focus and you can start typing straight away. All nodes matching your search query will be listed. Click the one you're looking for and it will be highlighted in the patch and the Node panel.
720-search.png
Improved Text and Mesh rendering
The Text Render and Mesh Render nodes are now much faster when rendering a lot of instances so you can now go crazy and take it up to 11. Or 11,000 if you really want to set your hair on fire. :fire:
720-mesh.png
Tutorial Overhaul
Wire 7.20 is a great point of entry if you want to learn how to work with Resolume's node-based coding environment. We've overhauled the entire tutorial section to get you up and running with Wire in no time.
720-tuts.png
Strokes Effect
Built entirely with the new Wire features, this new effect in Arena & Avenue gives a nice van Gogh painterly look by applying angled brush strokes. You can clone it and make your own variations in Wire. 🎨
720-strokes-1.png
Expressions & Constants
Both Arena, Avenue, and Wire support various expressions like sin and cos in the input boxes. Resolume 7.20 introduces two new expressions: sqrt and radians. Additionally, we've added the pi, phi, and tau constants. Instead of adding a Pi node you can simply type in pi in the input box and we will take it from there!
720-expres.png
Texture Nodes Update
We've split up the functionality of the To Texture node into two separate nodes: To Texture and Texture from Data. The To Texture node is now a simple conversion node that converts a type like Slice or Shape to a texture node. This is now in line with the other conversion nodes like To Float2. The old functionality of the To Texture node, converting data into textures, has been moved to the Texture from Data node. Finally, we've renamed the Texture node to Texture from Channels. This change doesn't add any functionality or break any of your patches, it simply streamlines the Wire language and ensures consistency in the future.
720-texture.png
Smoother Output via BlackMagic Capture Devices
In previous releases, when video output via a BlackMagic capture device was not very smooth, you could "fix" it by adding a 1ms delay to the output in the Advanced Output. We have found the core of this problem and fixed it. It's no longer required to add a delay to get smooth output.

Avenue & Arena 7.20.0 Fix List
#20482 Akai APC64 Support
#11975 Play scrubbing audio on preview output only
#20811 Clip transport defaults are not applied when dropping clips to compositions opened from disk
#12132 Putting new clips into composition can ignore default transport settings
#16769 AV clips take defaults of Video clips instead of Audio clips
#19659 Default blend should be applied on new layers after setting it in preferences
#20581 Add start/stop (in|out) to ParamRange in rest-api JSON
#20671 Clip positions and parameters in REST-API should send info about in and out points, and relative position too
#20837 Add speed param to layer group in rest-api
#19778 Pasting Bitcrusher effect Sample rate param should keep the copied value too
#17750 Bitcrusher afx parameters adjust value every time composition is saved and reloaded
#18285 Slice transform is missing from rendered clip
#18511 Opening advanced output with video router from bypassed group, the output flashes to black
#18964 You can't change clip duration switching back from BPM sync BPM mode to timeline
#19267 FFGL host time not initialized properly
#20165 Splash screen on windows no worky
#20400 Make splash screen optional via preferences
#20403 Arena can crash on enabling API webserver
#20409 Sort found artnet nodes by IP so you can easily find the next one you want to send to
#20413 Remember mixer blend preset list fold states after Resolume restart
#20414 Close all blend, effects and source presets with Shift click, like how it works in the compositions panel
#20513 Crash with bloom effect with 1x1 composition resolution
#20612 Lines source with animated Width fills up memory on latest OSX

Wire 7.20.1 Hot Fix
#21373 Creating a Time node crashes Wire 7.20.0 (among other nodes)</li>

Wire 7.20.0 Fix List
#20685 Instanced ISF
#20543 ISF persistent passes
#20660 ISF shader with two similar inputs crashes Wire
#19166 Instanced Video Sampler
#19273 Box2D mode in Grid Cloner
#20557 Rounded Rectangle in 2D Geometry
#20572 Allow automatic conversion from Geometry2D to Mesh2D
#21121 Remove resource not working
#20515 Crash trying to read from Slice in using event Read
#20526 Exposing inlets on a Join in trigger mode freezes up Wire
#20490 Prevent changes to inlets when scrolling/navigating patch or panels
#20584 Wire renders visible seam when stitching textures on AMD graphics card
#20595 Radial gradient rendering can go wrong in the corners
#20627 Atan2 is calculated incorrectly for VecN
#20632 Text Render bypassed does not work, it continues rendering
#20680 Comments get lines added on windows on save, on mac, lines are removed
#20801 Edited Notes are not updated in the composition on save
#21048 Spokes and Bag with max at 1 hangs Wire

Alley 7.20.0 Fix List
#18939 Alley jumping frames when start/stop video
#20121 New Alley background color, not black :-)

Eledtech
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2019 21:22

Re: Resolume 7.20 Release | New Strokes Effect, Wire Color Types, Hardware & Node Stats, Wire Tutorial Overhaul

Post by Eledtech »

please add aja kona 5 / 8k support.
one year for now, and its not fixed :(
Visual and led designer at eledtech and aseven night club/Berlin.

Scratchpole
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 14:27

Re: Resolume 7.20 Release | New Strokes Effect, Wire Color Types, Hardware & Node Stats, Wire Tutorial Overhaul

Post by Scratchpole »

Evening all,
I'm looking at the new FPS and hardware stats and have a query.

Currently programming a show for the weekend which will be running on timecode at 30 fps, I've set my comp to 30 and screen refresh rate to 60 Hertz but I'm seeing the FPS display at ~28.5 testing some of the built in sources (while awaiting content delivery).

If I set the comp FPS to auto my machine can push plenty faster even though it is a very large composition, 11000x3600.
I've tried 25fps too and it's reporting a little under the desired rate (about the same ~1.5 fps below expected).

Is it reporting the FPS correctly?
Testing on MBP M2 Max

Post Reply