Wire wish - Font/Style choose option for StringIn

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1606
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Wire wish - Font/Style choose option for StringIn

Post by cosmowe »

Hey Guys,
it would be wonderful to give a user the ability to change font and font-style of his string/text-inputs also in the Resolume interface just like for example the "Text Block" source does it.
Unbenannt.PNG
Unbenannt.PNG (6.68 KiB) Viewed 2934 times
Now I can just choose and hardcode the most less fancy font into the patch before compiling it.


Best wishes
cosmowe
Image Do you like outlines? Easy Outliner on Juicebar

User avatar
Arvol
Might as well join the team
Posts: 2839
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Wire wish - Font/Style choose option for StringIn

Post by Arvol »

Has been on the request list for a year or so. When Dynamic instancing comes out, I believe it might get rolled out with that. Reasoning was that certain things are generated from the launch such as fonts, raster size, etc. changing it would mean the entire patch has to get re-launched.
Current workaround is duplicating the node and passing it through a gate with a choice input.

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 7154
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Wire wish - Font/Style choose option for StringIn

Post by Zoltán »

Indeed, we're working on this ;)
Software developer, Sound Engineer,
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1606
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: Wire wish - Font/Style choose option for StringIn

Post by cosmowe »

Image
Image Do you like outlines? Easy Outliner on Juicebar

User avatar
Arvol
Might as well join the team
Posts: 2839
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Wire wish - Font/Style choose option for StringIn

Post by Arvol »

I guess to piggy back off this request, If we could also have a Choice Node auto fill out the choice selection of a list when you use "expose inputs" that would save a LOT of time of filling out the font selection haha. But keeping the Choice Node empty when connecting manually, so users can have the option to use either method.

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1606
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: Wire wish - Font/Style choose option for StringIn

Post by cosmowe »

An what if a user don't have your fancy font offshoot "Comic Sans Professional" :) version you've pre-choosed?

Than it will fallback to Arial?
Image Do you like outlines? Easy Outliner on Juicebar

User avatar
Arvol
Might as well join the team
Posts: 2839
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Wire wish - Font/Style choose option for StringIn

Post by Arvol »

cosmowe wrote: Thu Apr 21, 2022 16:38 An what if a user don't have your fancy font offshoot "Comic Sans Professional" :) version you've pre-choosed?

Than it will fallback to Arial?
It's dynamic. So it will pull from the Node. So whatever fonts appear in the Node, will also appear in the list ;)

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 7154
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Wire wish - Font/Style choose option for StringIn

Post by Zoltán »

yeah, it's not as simple as it sounds
Software developer, Sound Engineer,
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu

User avatar
Arvol
Might as well join the team
Posts: 2839
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: Wire wish - Font/Style choose option for StringIn

Post by Arvol »

In Python [I know you guys are c++] it's just:

Code: Select all

op('xxx').par.driver.menuNames
And it will parse your driver for available options :)

User avatar
mowgli
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 402
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 17:28
Location: UK

Re: Wire wish - Font/Style choose option for StringIn

Post by mowgli »

What happened with this?
The text render node in Wire is pretty pointless if you can't swap fonts from within Resolume!

Post Reply