Performance Benchmarks

Stay up to date with important updates, artist showcases and more
barryc
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 09:54

Re: Performance Benchmarks

Post by barryc »

@crv74
what version of software did you use to perform the last two tests (above)?

User avatar
DHoude
Hasn't felt like this about software in a long time
Posts: 232
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 14:12
Location: Manchester, CT, USA

Re: Performance Benchmarks

Post by DHoude »

Prostar P775TM1-G3 (Clevo)
Windows 10 Pro (64-bit) b 1903 fully updated,
Intel i9-9900K CPU @ 3.60GHz,
32GB RAM,
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 (Mobile), Studio drivers 431.70
500GB OS SSD, 4TB Content SSD
Christie Boxer 4K30 projector

Resolume 6.13 - 4K fullscreen output activated and connected

4K test only, all 20 layers ending at 29.97 fps - 19 layers at 31 fps.

Depending on what you call a win. I would say 29.97 still qualifies and it kept bouncing just over 30 fps.
9.39.50 PM-9-4-2019.jpg
9.39.50 PM-9-4-2019.jpg (31.8 KiB) Viewed 70292 times

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 7154
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Performance Benchmarks

Post by Zoltán »

Custom Desktop
Windows 10 pro 64 bit 1903
AMD Threadripper 1920x, stock speeds,
32GB RAM,
GTX 1080Ti

Arena 7
GUI @ 1080p
4k clean @ 58FPS to 2x 4k outputs.
4k noise @ 48FPS to 2x 4k ouptuts.
Software developer, Sound Engineer,
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu

frankfunk
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Dec 30, 2019 21:38

Re: Performance Benchmarks

Post by frankfunk »

I can't open the compositions in Resolume 7 on my MacBook Pro 2019 16", so I just added the video clips to 20 layers. Is this all that is happening in the composition, or are there any transformations / automations / effects going on?

If that's all, here's my results:

Apple MacBook Pro 2019 16"
MacOS Catalina 10.15.2
CPU 2,3 GHz 8-Core i9
RAM 32 GB 2667 DDR4
Graphics AMD Radeon Pro 5500M 8 GB

Resolume Arena 7.1.0
GUI at default resolution 3072x1920px

Composition 1920x1080, output windowed 1920x1080
1080p clean 20 layers @ 60 fps
1080p noise 20 layers @ 60 fps

Composition 3840x2160, output windowed 3840x2160
4k clean 14 layers @ 30fps
4k noise 12 layers @ 30fps

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 7154
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Performance Benchmarks

Post by Zoltán »

Thanks for posting your results!
frankfunk wrote: Sun Feb 02, 2020 13:01 I can't open the compositions in Resolume 7 on my MacBook Pro 2019 16"
Yeah, the original compositions are from v4, which can't be opened directly in v7. Adding the files manually to a new 1080p / 4k, 20 layer composition should be fine. There are no additional effects or transforms in the originals.
Software developer, Sound Engineer,
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu

User avatar
Oaktown
Resolume honorary member
Posts: 2837
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 15:19
Location: Oakland, CA

Re: Performance Benchmarks

Post by Oaktown »

It's been a long time since I ran a test using the 4K Benchmark composition but I just built a new EC2 instance so here it is:

AWS EC2 g4dn.4xlarge with 16 vCPUs, 64GB Ram, 1 Tesla T4 GPU with 15360MB GDDR6

32 layers of 4K clean at 30fps
18 layers of 4k clean at 30fps
30 layers of 4K noise at 30fps
16 layers of 4K clean at 60fps

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 7154
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: Performance Benchmarks

Post by Zoltán »

levono ideapad gaming 3
i5-10300H CPU @ 2.50GHz 2.50 GHz
nvidia gtx 1650Ti
512GB SSD

Composition 3840x2160, 1080p UI, output to Full screen 4k
4k clean 20 layers @ 35fps
4k noise 14 layers @ 30fps
Software developer, Sound Engineer,
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1606
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: Performance Benchmarks

Post by cosmowe »

Nice one Zoltán!
And so much more cost effective! :P
Image Do you like outlines? Easy Outliner on Juicebar

User avatar
cosmowe
Knows Resolume better than the devs
Posts: 1606
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:27
Location: cologne // germany

Re: Performance Benchmarks

Post by cosmowe »

Hey there,
I've hunted down an older laptop for a really good price.
I already mentioned it in another thread but for completion I post the results here too.

Alienware 15 R3 (Model from 2018)
i7 6700HQ
GTX 1070 6GB
32GB RAM
2x 500GB m.2 nvme

Result (Resolume 7.8.0)
17x 4K Noise Content WITH 3 Outputs attached and running till it drops down to 30fps
10x 4K Noise Content WITH 3 Outputs attached and running till it leaves the 60fps

Best wishes
cosmowe

Image
Image
Image Do you like outlines? Easy Outliner on Juicebar

theacbh
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2022 02:01

Re: Performance Benchmarks

Post by theacbh »

Model: Lenovo X250
OS: Windows 10 Enterprise Build 19042
Graphic card: Intel HD5500
Harddisk: Samsung SSD 860 Evo 1TB
Processor: 2,3 GHz 2-Core Intel Core i5-5300U
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600MHz
Resolume 7.1.0

Output Setup: 1 Control monitor at 1920x1080, 1 Fullscreen output at 1024x768

Benchmark for 3840x2160
Clean content: 1 Layer
Noise content: 1 Layer

Benchmark for 1920x1080
Clean content: 5 layers
Noise content: 4 layers

Benchmark for 640x480
Clean content: 20+ layers
Noise content: 20+ layers

Tbh, I thought this small business laptop would struggle more! Does the job at a small rave cave with some friends and an old 2500 Lumen projector :D

Post Reply