[OSC] Compositionbased Chaos-Mode

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
Post Reply
deadlock
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:58

[OSC] Compositionbased Chaos-Mode

Post by deadlock »

Hi guys!

I'm currently working on a tool that remote controls Resolume Avenue via OSC to randomly/sequencially play Clips in layers. I was inspired by gpvillamil with his MAX Patch.

My applcation is written in .NET (VB.NET :oops: ) and is able to send OSC messages to a specified port via UPD.
The messages are generated by the application itself and based on the composition which is loaded is into it.
(The composition file are XML-Encoded and are pretty informative)

My Problem now is that Resolume Avenue is not reacting to the message.

Avenue is set to port 7123 and the tool too. If I'm using another program that listens at UDP:7123 for testing and the messages are recieved pretty well.

The message looks like this : "/composition/disconnectall 1" right now. so no generated messages at the moment. But if something is playing in Avenue they're not getting disconnected.

Is there a problem with the message? I just cant find the problem and the solution.

P.S. the OSC-messages are generated vie the Bespoke.OSC-Implementation vor .NET.

edwin
Team Resolume
Posts: 1207
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 10:40

Re: [OSC] Compositionbased Chaos-Mode

Post by edwin »

- Check if you are sending messages in bundles or not. In Avenue you'll need to set wether you want to use bundles or not.
- Sometimes the message needs a traling slash.
I think this is the correct address when trying to sending a disconnect all.
address:: /composition/disconnectall/
argument: 1

deadlock
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:58

Re: [OSC] Compositionbased Chaos-Mode

Post by deadlock »

Hi edwin!

Thanks for the quick reply. I finally gt it to work. I simply didn't give it the argument properly.

So now I'm going to develop a bit further. Maybe in a few Days I can bring an initial Release of the App!

EDIT:


Looks like there is no way to call a specific clip from a deck, or is there? everytime I send messages like "/deck2/layer/2/clip2/connect" ",i" 1 nothing is happening.

So is there a possibility to do this? Maybe by some command to load a deck and then connect the wanted clip? If not I would (and maybe some other guys too) highly recommend this for the next update ! (Or make a minor build :) )

edwin
Team Resolume
Posts: 1207
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 10:40

Re: [OSC] Compositionbased Chaos-Mode

Post by edwin »

You first have to switch to another deck before you can trigger it's clips.
To select/open a deck send the following message:
address: /composition/deck2/select
argument: 1

edwin
Team Resolume
Posts: 1207
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 10:40

Re: [OSC] Compositionbased Chaos-Mode

Post by edwin »

Btw, if you enabled OSC in the preferences and you enter MIDI or Keyboard mapping, you'll see the OSC address of each item that can be mapped in the mapping panel (below the output monitor). Just click on any of the highlighted items and you'll will see it's OSC address and TypeTag at the bottom of this panel.

deadlock
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:58

Re: [OSC] Compositionbased Chaos-Mode

Post by deadlock »

That's what I wanted! Thank you edwin. Release comming soon!

dean

Re: [OSC] Compositionbased Chaos-Mode

Post by dean »

Hi,

I had a similar problem with /composition/bypassed and /composition/disconnectall.

After reading this thread, it seems like /composition/disconnectall/ works, but I don't understand why you would need a trailing slash for these messages but not most of the other ones. Also, the manual gives /composition/bypassed as an example, without a trailing slash.

Thanks,

Joris
Posts: 5186
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: [OSC] Compositionbased Chaos-Mode

Post by Joris »

It's best to check the OSC address via the interface. In Res 3 you can enter Midi Map mode, click on the interface element you want to know the address of, and check in the bottom *left*. In your case of ejecting all clips, it reads '/composition/disconnectall/' with an int as argument, which is the correct address.

Joris
Last edited by Joris on Tue Mar 29, 2011 16:25, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Left is the hand where the thumb sits on the right. I'm an idiot.

dean

Re: [OSC] Compositionbased Chaos-Mode

Post by dean »

Hi Joris,

Thanks a lot, I didn't realize you could find the mappings in the interface, super helpful. Might be worth mentioning that in the manual.

Just out of curiosity, is there any logic behind whether mappings have a trailing slash or not? Is it just arbitrary on a control by control basis?

Thanks,
-- dean

Joris
Posts: 5186
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: [OSC] Compositionbased Chaos-Mode

Post by Joris »

Just out of curiosity, is there any logic behind whether mappings have a trailing slash or not? Is it just arbitrary on a control by control basis?
There's no real logic ;) Master composition controls (eject all, fade to black etc) mostly have the slash, others don't. In the next release the trailing slash is gone entirely, so the implementation is consistent again. We can't do that for Res3, because it could potentially break people's maps that are already made.

Post Reply