pixel pusher syphon and processing

Post your questions here and we'll all try to help.
Post Reply
premiermalvado
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 16:06

pixel pusher syphon and processing

Post by premiermalvado »

I bought a pixel pusher from heroic robotics and what i want to do, at first is to have same colors of my output composition to a strip of pixels. this is acheived easily sending resolume´s syphon signal to a processing sketch that works as a syphon client, to my led hardware )(pixel pusher)


a sketch from the developer is provided,

// FFT for PixelPusher
// by jas@heroicrobot.com
//
// refactored by Matt Stone
// evil@heroicrobot.com
//
// then universally remonstered by jas again
//
// vaguely based on
//
// Fancy FFT of the song
// Erin K 09/20/08
// RobotGrrl.com
// ------------------------
// Based off the code by Tom Gerhardt
// thomas-gerhardt.com
import codeanticode.syphon.*;
import hypermedia.net.*;
import com.heroicrobot.dropbit.registry.*;
import com.heroicrobot.dropbit.devices.pixelpusher.Pixel;
import com.heroicrobot.dropbit.devices.pixelpusher.Strip;

import processing.core.*;
import java.util.*;

DeviceRegistry registry;

SyphonClient client;
PGraphics canvas;

boolean ready_to_go = true;
int lastPosition;
int canvasW = 48 * 5;
int canvasH = 240 * 4;
TestObserver testObserver;



void setup() {
size(canvasW, canvasH, P3D);
registry = new DeviceRegistry();
testObserver = new TestObserver();
registry.addObserver(testObserver);
background(0);
client = new SyphonClient(this, "Modul8", "Main View");
}




void draw() {
if (client.available()) {
canvas = client.getGraphics(canvas);
image(canvas, 0, 0, width, height);
}
scrape();
}

void stop()
{
super.stop();
}

/////
where i KNOW i have to change

client = new SyphonClient(this, "Modul8", "Main View");

with proper resolume arena values.

my question is... is there any specific na i should use ?? meaning, does server have a specific label that i shoud use for addressing signal.

i.e

client = new SyphonClient(this, "Resolume Arena", "Syphon Server");





any help will be really appreciated.


thanks in advance..

Joris
Posts: 5186
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 11:38

Re: pixel pusher syphon and processing

Post by Joris »

Resolume's main output identifies itself to Syphon as follows:

Code: Select all

client = new SyphonClient(this, "Arena", "Composition");  
Or for Avenue:

Code: Select all

client = new SyphonClient(this, "Avenue", "Composition");
If you use a Syphon output via the Advanced Output, you can name the window yourself:

Code: Select all

client = new SyphonClient(this, "Arena", "Slice 1");  

premiermalvado
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 16:06

Re: pixel pusher syphon and processing

Post by premiermalvado »

awesome, working as a charm !!!! thank you x1000000

Post Reply