OSC Arena 7.13.1

Just let it all out, buddy. You're among friends here.
Post Reply
Piotr
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2023 23:18

OSC Arena 7.13.1

Post by Piotr »

Hi, I have created a program that sends OSC commands in response to received messages. Unfortunately, I have trouble understanding the order of messages received from Resolume. When I play the clips one by one, I get them in the following sequence:

/composition/layers/2/clips/1/connect i: 3
/composition/layers/2/clips/2/connect i: 3
/composition/layers/2/clips/1/connect i: 1
/composition/layers/2/clips/3/connect i: 3
/composition/layers/2/clips/2/connect i: 1
/composition/layers/2/clips/4/connect i: 3
/composition/layers/2/clips/3/connect i: 1
/composition/layers/2/clips/5/connect i: 3
/composition/layers/2/clips/4/connect i: 1
/composition/layers/2/clips/6/connect i: 3
/composition/layers/2/clips/5/connect i: 1
/composition/layers/2/clips/7/connect i: 3
/composition/layers/2/clips/6/connect i: 1
/composition/layers/2/clips/8/connect i: 3
/composition/layers/2/clips/7/connect i: 1
/composition/layers/2/clips/9/connect i: 3
/composition/layers/2/clips/8/connect i: 1
/composition/layers/2/clips/1/connect i: 3
/composition/layers/2/clips/9/connect i: 1
/composition/layers/2/clips/2/connect i: 3
/composition/layers/2/clips/1/connect i: 1
/composition/layers/2/clips/3/connect i: 3
/composition/layers/2/clips/2/connect i: 1
/composition/layers/2/clips/4/connect i: 3
/composition/layers/2/clips/3/connect i: 1
/composition/layers/2/clips/5/connect i: 3
/composition/layers/2/clips/4/connect i: 1
/composition/layers/2/clips/6/connect i: 3
/composition/layers/2/clips/5/connect i: 1
/composition/layers/2/clips/7/connect i: 3
/composition/layers/2/clips/6/connect i: 1
/composition/layers/2/clips/8/connect i: 3
/composition/layers/2/clips/7/connect i: 1
/composition/layers/2/clips/9/connect i: 3
/composition/layers/2/clips/8/connect i: 1
/composition/layers/2/clips/1/connect i: 3
/composition/layers/2/clips/9/connect i: 1
/composition/layers/2/clips/2/connect i: 3
/composition/layers/2/clips/1/connect i: 1
/composition/layers/2/clips/3/connect i: 3
/composition/layers/2/clips/2/connect i: 1
/composition/layers/2/clips/4/connect i: 3
/composition/layers/2/clips/3/connect i: 0
/composition/layers/2/clips/2/connect i: 0
/composition/layers/2/clips/6/connect i: 0
/composition/layers/2/clips/1/connect i: 1
/composition/layers/2/clips/5/connect i: 0
/composition/layers/2/clips/4/connect i: 0
/composition/layers/2/clips/8/connect i: 0
/composition/layers/2/clips/9/connect i: 0
/composition/layers/2/clips/7/connect i: 0
/composition/layers/2/clips/3/connect i: 1

Why?

You can see more in the videos:
https://youtu.be/0tkG_GU6tPk
https://youtu.be/tthA5Ke99BA

Regards
Peter

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 7483
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: OSC Arena 7.13.1

Post by Zoltán »

Clips have a /connected address which you can use to query the clip slot state
This has 5 states,
0= empty slot,
1=clip present, not connected or previewed
2=clip previewed, but not connected
3=connected, but not previewed,
4=clip previewed and connected.
Software developer, Sound Engineer,
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu

Piotr
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2023 23:18

Re: OSC Arena 7.13.1

Post by Piotr »

Thank you! I was confused by the description that connect has only two states: 0 and 1. Are the messages covered by other messages? for example when there is transport/position ? What is the difference between connect and connected? Where can I find OSC Resolume Arena documentation?

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 7483
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: OSC Arena 7.13.1

Post by Zoltán »

Connect is the clip trigger action, like a mouse click, connect 1 is the click down, connect 0 is click release.

Connected is the clip slot state.

The clip connect should be 0-1, we have a ticket for this, custom OSC presets send out the connected when enabling the connect in the preset.

Other mappable items work fine as far we know. Resolume input addresses can't be changed, you can find them in shortcut panel, clicking on a highlighted item.
Software developer, Sound Engineer,
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu

SageGuy
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2024 00:27

Re: OSC Arena 7.13.1

Post by SageGuy »

Zoltán wrote: Wed Nov 08, 2023 10:28 Connect is the clip trigger action, like a mouse click, connect 1 is the click down, connect 0 is click release.

Connected is the clip slot state.

The clip connect should be 0-1, we have a ticket for this, custom OSC presets send out the connected when enabling the connect in the preset.

Other mappable items work fine as far we know. Resolume input addresses can't be changed, you can find them in shortcut panel, clicking on a highlighted item.
On this point:
Are you sayin that in order to get proper connected OSC out put we need to enable the default OSC output or need to set a Custom Address to get consistent 'connect' status output?

I'm finding that when switching decks in 7.21.2, if a clip is connected to a layer, it is outputting '0' for the clip. I have submitted a bug report/talking with dev but wanted to ask here on a related thread

Zoltán
Team Resolume
Posts: 7483
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 13:08
Location: Székesfehérvár, Hungary

Re: OSC Arena 7.13.1

Post by Zoltán »

SageGuy wrote: Sat Sep 14, 2024 16:18 I'm finding that when switching decks in 7.21.2, if a clip is connected to a layer, it is outputting '0' for the clip. I have submitted a bug report/talking with dev but wanted to ask here on a related thread
the 0 is for the release of the clips in the previous deck
Software developer, Sound Engineer,
Control Your show with ”Enter” - multiple Resolume servers at once - SMPTE/MTC column launch
try for free: http://programs.palffyzoltan.hu

Post Reply