SVG/AI to Advanced output Slice or Mask

"Where is Feature X? I need Feature X! How can you not have Feature X?"
Post Reply
User avatar
_Ineffable_
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2018 18:40
Location: Amsterdam

SVG/AI to Advanced output Slice or Mask

Post by _Ineffable_ »

Since the previous post originates from 2012 and is over 10 years old already I'll make a new post for it.

It would be a MASSIVE time saver if we could import .svg or .ai files as masks or slices in the advanced output window in Resoume.
It feels like such a waste of time to redraw complex shapes from scratch again with less optimal tools after it has already been made in Illustrator before. :geek:
I figured since the Advanced Output Window can export to SVG already, importing one cant be that hard now can it?
That would make the mapping process 100 times faster!
(I am aware that you can use PNG masks on layers, but you cant set that in advanced and using transforms on these is a real pain.)

So Resolume guys, If you are reading this.. please make this happen! It would greatly speed up the workflow! :D
Yeah don't worry! I put it on autopilot!

elby
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2017 19:45

Re: SVG/AI to Advanced output Slice or Mask

Post by elby »

+1 on this!

I just made a 60+ vector file to do my mapping video creation in AE and it would be nice to be able to just import it in Resolume advanced output instead of re-doing it all!

User avatar
Arvol
Might as well join the team
Posts: 2854
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: SVG/AI to Advanced output Slice or Mask

Post by Arvol »

Usually it's the otherway around. You build your stage in Arena and then export out a svg you bring into your editing software. Have you tried that workflow?

Empyfree
Is seriously in love with Resolume. Met the parents and everything
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 23:36

Re: SVG/AI to Advanced output Slice or Mask

Post by Empyfree »

Arvol wrote: Wed Apr 03, 2024 22:12 Usually it's the otherway around. You build your stage in Arena and then export out a svg you bring into your editing software. Have you tried that workflow?
Nice for touring VJ’s loading in maps for events though. Not everybody is kind enough to send an advanced output xml.

tjk031
Met Resolume in a bar the other day
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 14, 2024 15:59

Re: SVG/AI to Advanced output Slice or Mask

Post by tjk031 »

This would help with our organization use case as well. Ability to import SVG scenic set pieces for custom Mask in Advanced Output.

User avatar
Arvol
Might as well join the team
Posts: 2854
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 17:36
Location: Oklahoma, USA

Re: SVG/AI to Advanced output Slice or Mask

Post by Arvol »

tjk031 wrote: Tue May 14, 2024 17:17 This would help with our organization use case as well. Ability to import SVG scenic set pieces for custom Mask in Advanced Output.
Why not use the "Mask" FX that's already built and apply it to your composition level?

User avatar
_Ineffable_
Is taking Resolume on a second date
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2018 18:40
Location: Amsterdam

Re: SVG/AI to Advanced output Slice or Mask

Post by _Ineffable_ »

Arvol wrote: Tue May 21, 2024 19:31
tjk031 wrote: Tue May 14, 2024 17:17 This would help with our organization use case as well. Ability to import SVG scenic set pieces for custom Mask in Advanced Output.
Why not use the "Mask" FX that's already built and apply it to your composition level?
Because you cant alter that very flexible. Say the skewing is off a bit. It is very hard in tedious to get this right. That would work much better in the advanced output. Also when working with many layers etc using masks is undesirable.
I often get a stage design made in illustrator, with the question to make VJ content for it. It is just such a waste of time to need to redraw the entire thing in resolume while I have the vector of it.
Yeah don't worry! I put it on autopilot!

Post Reply